Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
What a bust. The dough was super sticky based on the recipe's recommendations. Then added more flour and more flour until it was finally manageable. However, when I boiled the perogies the dough was tough. Definitely not what I expected. Apparently eggs make the dough hard. I recall my mother-in-law saying she used milk instead of sour cream but unfortunately she took the recipe with her to the grave. Will need to keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Urbanik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I love the dough! It is soft and light. I don't understand why people complaint it is too sticky. You simply add more flour and the end result is amazing. I was born and raised in Poland and pierogi is one of my favorites. However, the dough is the secret, because it can often be hard if you don't pay attaention. THIS RECIPE ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. After boiling, we fried them in butter and added chopped onions and garlic - was great. We kept the lid on when we were frying them so they also got steamed, which worked well. The only think I would do differently, which was my own fault, is to make homemade sour cream mashed potatoes from scratch. I used the boxed mashed potatoes to save time, which was not bad, but when you are putting this much work into something you should just go ahead and make everything from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Pierogies are one of my very favorite foods. A year ago I could not have anything dairy so I decided to make my own version of these. I changed to butter to vegan margarine and used a dairy free sour cream (tofu product)instead of real sour cream. You could not tell it was not real dairy and they were delish! Very easy recipe to follow and the dough is very soft. Will be making these again and again. They are also the preferred choice of filling for my previous cheese loving children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Really good! Tastes soooo much better than the frozen ones! Easy way to use leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am only rating this for the dough and cooking instructions. I didn't even read the ingredients from the filling recipes, because I read the Potato, Cheese & Onion Filling recipe on this page: pittsburgh.about.com/od/recipes/r/pierogies.htm. I'm from Pittsburgh, and this sounded like how I remember mom making them when I was a kid. These are better! Wow. A real trip down memory lane, and fantastic. Chewy, crisp, buttery dough. Perfect. The filling I used is 5 medium white potatoes, diced and boiled, mixed with a large onion roughly diced and lightly sauteed with a little less than 1/2 stick of butter. Mix in about 1/2 pound of cheddar (or other) shredded cheese. Easier to work with if you let it chill for an hour or so. Not a problem if you make the filling first, since you'll take at least an hour to get to where the dough's ready to be filled anyway. Be generous when you wet the rim of the open pierogi before closing it. If your dough is dry (or too floured from rolling or crancking through a pasta machine) a little extra water will turn this extra flour into glue. Really. Without it, the flour will keep the thing from staying shut. Get them damp enough to remain shiny for a minute or so and you'll never have one pop open when you boil it. Don't be stingy with the butter when you're frying these things after you boil them. It will ensure even cooking and a more crisp outside. If the dough was too sticky, you didn't add enough flour while kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was the most labor intensive food item I've ever attempted to make and it was also an epic failure. I followed the directions for making the dough to the letter. It was the stickiest dough I have ever made. At that point I should have realized that I needed to use at least twice as much flour as the recipe called for, but instead of trusting my insticts on this I wrapped up this mass of stickyness in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day I took it out to make the dumplings. I couldn't even get it off of the plastic wrap. It was stickier than taffy. At this point I did add more flour, but there was no saving it. I rolled it out and cut some rounds. Most of the rounds were still too sticky to pry up from the rest of the dough. I ended up making 10 extremely gooey horrible looking dumplings. I didn't even attempt to boil them. Most of them had huge gaping holes due to the evilness of this dough. I decided to treat them like potstickers and attempted to pan fry and then steam them. I ended up with one raw dough side and one burnt side. They went in the trash and I just ate the fillings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I am Polish (I grew up in Poland) and had many great pierogi. I myself am still learning to make them and I try to practice whenever I can. I like this recipe but the dough was too sticky and it needed more flour so I added it as I went. I made the sauerkraut filling and in Poland we added finely chopped mushrooms to it so that's what I did. We ate them boiled with fried onion on top and tonight as leftovers I will fry the pierogi themselves. I brushed them with oil before storing them in the fridge so they wouldn't stick together once they got cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
this is a great recipe,my mother-in-law is polish and we only get these from her at christmas time,now I can make them whenever we want,I added chopped ham off the bone to my potato mix aswell,makes them extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
5 stars for sure!!! Used my own mashed potatoes WITH CHEESE, fired in butter and onions, and thought I was on the steps of Heaven!! We always put Cooper Sharp, Velveeta, or Cheddar in the potato mix. I'll be using this recipe to also make pierogi lasagna! Thanks so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States