Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Five stars for the dough although I used my Polish Grandmother's traditional filling recipes for potato and cheese, cabbage and prune which are quite different than this one. The dough is awesome and very easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These came out wonderful! Used quite a bit more flour when kneading. Also I only had bread flour available which worked perfect. Had no sour cream so I used Greek yogurt. Had quite a bit of filling left over, I wanted my husband to try because he never eats pierogi so I added a little bacon and cheese with the potato. He really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was my first time making or eating Pierogis and I was hesitant because I'm not a huge fan of sour cream but these were delicious. I ended up making them a bit large and they were a bit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe looked really good but the dough was very sticky. (I had to add lots & lots of flour) And the potato filling (only one I made) needed more seasoning. Everything tasted fine but, I really wanted some Pierogi's that were FABULOUS. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Great! Easy to follow and turned out as expected. I recently retired and am trying things I never had time for, like making pierogi. I've had them all my life but depended on Polish aunties and restaurants as my mother was from the South and she did not venture into Polish cuisine. I was concerned with the comments about "gooey messes" but tried this recipe anyway. Since mine came off without a hitch, my guess is they put in too much sour cream which I almost did. I had a 16 oz container of sour cream and almost put the whole of that in (the recipe calls for "1 (8 ounce) container sour cream") but I've learned to read and reread instructions because of my dyslexia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I found this dough nearly impossible to work with. It was both very sticky and very elastic, which made it impossible to roll out to 1/8". I ended up adding about 1/4c extra flour, and it still was very frustrating. Pierogi are hard enough to make, this dough did not make me want to do it ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaCasse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessMel
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I served these to my husband and his friends and they LOVED them! Both fillings were a huge hit and I think next time I'll try some of my own fillings, such as cheddar or maybe cottage cheese. The only thing I didn't like was that they at least doubled in size after boiling, which made them HUGE. I think maybe I didn't stretch the dough enough... Not sure. I didn't actually find them as time consuming, compared to what I was expecting. But they took a good hour to make and cook (after pre-making the filling). This time I doubled, next time I will at least quadruple the recipe because we have a stand up freezer and can do stuff like that :D Enjoy everyone! Update: I figured out my problem with my dough, it seemed to be sometimes perfect, sometimes way to stretchy or "glutinized". I let my dough rest for 30 minutes before handling it. This helped calm the gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My attempt was certainly not ready in 1 hr 40 mins as the sidebar indicates - but they were really, really good. I mixed the potato and kraut fillings together and filled the entire batch with that mixture - YUMMM. That mixture was good on its own and is going to be served as a side dish another time. Served the pierogies with sour cream, and also a sour cream horseradish mixture. Next time I will break it up into smaller chunks: make the fillings the first day; prepare the dough and assemble them the next day, freezing on a sheet pan after boiling & drying; and when needed, take them out to fry and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This takes some times, but it's worth it. I like both types in this recipe, but the sauerkraut ones were certainly more popular with my family, so I may just skip the potato ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. After I made them, my friends came over and ate ALL of them while saying how good they were. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States