Pierogi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is quite an old, "traditional" Russian food. "Pirogi" simply means "pie." If you make a regular pie, this is the word you should use. Pirogi are usually baked. "Pirozhki" is a diminutive word for "pirogi" and means "little pie" or can even be equated with the word for a "turnover." These can be baked or fried. "Vareniki," usually refers to a type of a dumpling or the preparation of "pirozhki" by boiling. Russian vareniki are boiled and then, sometimes after that, are also quickly fried in butter so tat they don't stick together as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I love this receipe!!! The whole thing is that they didn't rate this receipe, because they didn't know how easy it was!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This made very delicious pierogis but I found the dough difficult to work with, as I have carpel tunnel and it was nearly impossible to combine on my own. I would imagine a kitchen aide mixer with a dough attachment would make this a breeze, I wish I woulda been warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is the recipe my Mom used to make. The only difference being that she added some dill to the cottage cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Just the way my Baba made them. Takes some time to roll and fill them all but well worth it. We like melted butter and fried onions on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This dough seemed very difficult to work with. But the filling is delicious! I added chopped onion with the cottage cheese and egg mixture and I'm very surprised how tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinehogenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This is a great recipe! My family loves pierogis and this recipe makes it easy. I use a potato and cheddar cheese filling instead of the cottage cheese since that's how we've always had them. I've made double batches and frozen half, but the dough isn't the same once it's been frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
this recepy askes for milk and ussualy i use water insted and add one egg to it. if dough is sticky try to add little more flour to it. its best if you knead it with your hands. i make mine with mashed potatoes. when you make perogis try not to get potatoes into the seems. otherwise the potatoes will leak out. i make my dough round, not square. on top i use fried bacon. sometimes nicely browned onions and sourcream. make sure you add some butter to prevent from sticking when you take it out of the water. they are also very tasty when fried in little bit of butter next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was very simple and very good. I had a lot of cottage cheese (costco size) and needed to use it up. I used the dry type that was almost like try cream cheese. I added grated mozzarella cheese (about a cup) and small chucks of old cheddar just to give some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States