Pierogi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I love this receipe!!! The whole thing is that they didn't rate this receipe, because they didn't know how easy it was!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This is a great recipe! My family loves pierogis and this recipe makes it easy. I use a potato and cheddar cheese filling instead of the cottage cheese since that's how we've always had them. I've made double batches and frozen half, but the dough isn't the same once it's been frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This made very delicious pierogis but I found the dough difficult to work with, as I have carpel tunnel and it was nearly impossible to combine on my own. I would imagine a kitchen aide mixer with a dough attachment would make this a breeze, I wish I woulda been warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Just the way my Baba made them. Takes some time to roll and fill them all but well worth it. We like melted butter and fried onions on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe twice and could never get the dough to work. I only have a hand held mixer which may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe! When the dough ingredients were mixed together I thought it was too wet to be any good but when I rolled it out on the floured board it all came together really well. Used a pint glass to make round pirogi and filled them with equal parts potato, sauted onion and cheddar cheese- they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is quite an old, "traditional" Russian food. "Pirogi" simply means "pie." If you make a regular pie, this is the word you should use. Pirogi are usually baked. "Pirozhki" is a diminutive word for "pirogi" and means "little pie" or can even be equated with the word for a "turnover." These can be baked or fried. "Vareniki," usually refers to a type of a dumpling or the preparation of "pirozhki" by boiling. Russian vareniki are boiled and then, sometimes after that, are also quickly fried in butter so tat they don't stick together as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anyse Joslin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is the recipe my Mom used to make. The only difference being that she added some dill to the cottage cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was very simple and very good. I had a lot of cottage cheese (costco size) and needed to use it up. I used the dry type that was almost like try cream cheese. I added grated mozzarella cheese (about a cup) and small chucks of old cheddar just to give some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States