Pierogi Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I had read Teufel Frau reviews and laughed about the stress relieve from using this recipe. I too cook often and do pies and bread so I am very use to working with dough. This one seemed to be off with the portions - only 1 cup water to four cups flour but I worked with it - finally got it kneaded let it rest. I too had trouble cutting it with my biscuit cutter and rolling it out was a challenge - however it never stuck and I never had to add flour to the rolling surface - just had to roll as thin as I like it. However once you fight with it and get it rolled, cut, (I also re-rolled it out again) and filled and cooked, the taste is great! I will definitely use again although next time I think I will pull out my kitchen-aide with the pasta roller attachment instead of fighting with it. I would give it five stars if I didn't have almost every issue quoted in the earlier review by Teufel Frau. If anyone has any helpful hints, I would love to hear them. The recipe says you will get 25 to 30 perogies I do mine with a 3 inch cutter and got closer to 4 dozen so maybe I like mine too thin - thus the problem rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was my first experience with pierogis. I used my Kitchen Aide mixer, bread hook, for about 5 minutes, rather than hand-kneading. The dough was very easy to roll out, so those that had problems might have overworked the dough. Handling it as little as possible helps. My husband is part Russian and his father makes pierogis all the time. My husband liked these better than his Dad's!! I made them a little too thin and ran out of filling, but when cooked, they were soft and tender. Very good recipe and I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
this recipe wasn't the greatest at all! the dough turned out very dry and didn't make a whole lot of dough to begin with. don't recomend at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I liked this recipe, easy to make & work with, nice & elastic, keeps well in the fridge also. The only variation I made was using olive oil, 4 tsp as opposed to 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Dough tasted fantastic, I used a sauerkraut filling. However working with it is very difficult. Tough to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very easy to make. I used a cup to make the pierogis circles, then used a roling pin to make the circles thinner. The dough tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I made this dough in my bread maker worked really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My first attempt making pierogi and my Ukranian husband tells me they taste just like his grandmother used to make! Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I've made peirogi (Ukrainians call them Varenyky) with many a Ukrainians. I really liked this recipe because I could make the dough disk thin & load them up with filling without having thin spots or holes poked through when I was boiling them OR frying them. I hate eating a bunch of dough - so loved this recipe. In the past I'd either rip them up in the boiling process or frying - so pretty much made a mess. My son loves them so I was stuck making them! At last I can do it with success! This dough didn't taste any different to me, so I don't know what others are talking about taste. Thanks for the recipe Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States