Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Been making this for years and everyone loves it....for those that think it's bland, try a different cheese....Velveeta or Cooper Sharp. It's really simple, make a pot of mashed potatoes, add lots of cheese, fry onion, layer it all with the noodles, and bake! A great take-along dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Bland and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I make my own piroghy but thought I'd try this as a 'quick' alternative. Not even close. This is very doughy compared to my own egg yolk only dough which melts in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe would be a dream come true if not for one thing. I did try it as is just to be sure but my Polish guilt forced me to make a second batch at the same time using real pierogi dough. I know it's much more filling, but it's worth it to whip the dough up yourself. I think mine is somewhere in the ballpark of 3 medium pastered eggs, a cup of sour cream, + or - 3 cups of flour, TBSP of baking powder, and a few pinches of salt. Make a well and generally proceed as though you were making lasagna. I can definitely see myself using this time saver instead of pinching dumplings all day. Thanks for the thought. How did this never occur to me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was de-lish! I did add sauer kraut, which I won't do again, because it took away from the potato flavor. I also used the Barilla no-cook noodles as suggested by another review, next time I'll use regular as the recipe called for, the no-ccok noodles were too thin for us. Just shows you should stick to the recipe for the first time, and then tweak if you want to. Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to make it exactly as you submitted it!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could. Absolutely perfect for a crowd. This tasted exactly like a really good pierogi, and I'm going to be making it for a Halloween party next week, since it makes a ton. Thank you! (I did double the bacon and added a bit more cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattipoopidoo
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My friends won't stop asking for this dish! I made it with vegetarian bacon and I was afraid that my meateater buddies wouldn't like it- but they loved it! I've even been able to use it as leverage for favors (teehee). Worthwhile and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
this took forever to make!! so much work involved and it was only ok...too much work for a meal that is not awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
We used turkey bacon and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. I couldn't imagine using more than 5 large potatoes....it filled the dish. I did add some bacon and onions to the middle layer. I baked covered for 30 mins and uncovered for 15 mins. The noodles were not hard. We added some hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States