Piernik - Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
It was a very nicely scented door stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Fabulous recipe - not too sweet and just the right amount of spice. I made half this recipe which was the perfect amount to make 4 small bundt cakes (using my Nordic Ware Bundt Quartet pan.) Reduce the baking time significantly should you do this. Also, I added a little baking powder, didn’t bother boiling the honey, stirring for 10 minutes, or waiting an hour. I mixed all dry ingredients in one bowl, mixed all the liquid ingredients in another, and then combined, stirring in the walnuts and raisins at the end. When the bundts had cooled, I dusted with a very light coating of powdered sugar for appearances. I actually planned to freeze all but one so I’d have something on hand should a friend drop by for coffee, but frankly, they won’t last that long. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is delicious!!! I did take the suggestion to add baking powder. I also baked mine in a bundt pan, which turned out perfect!! It actually finished baking in an hour using the bundt pan, which was nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is true to my Polish roots, just like mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My polish girlfriend loves the way I make this! I go heavy on the cinnamon in the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After some minor tweaks (like adding some baking powder for lifting power and more walnuts for extra flavour and texture) this bread was truly delightful and has become a staple in my family. Best eaten warm with butter. Just delicious! And the aroma that fills up your kitchen as it's baking is heavenly too..Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love the taste of the honey, nuts and rasins. I eat it with peanut butter for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I served this to my Polish friends, and they loved it, and said it was like the piernik in Poland. I did make some changes. I followed the advice and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and I did not let it rest for 1 hour. After it was cooled, I divided the loaves into three layers. I sprinkled two of the layers with a bit of brandy and then spread them with plum butter. After re-assembling, I covered the entire cake with a chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was great!!!! I omitted the raisins, just because I'm not a fan. I'm glad I added walnuts though because they added some texture and flavor. I love the spices in this bread! I think dried cranberries or "craisins" would be good in this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
We loved this bread - a wonderful surprise taste of honey lingering in your mouth - I added apricots and it worked well at a church breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States