Pie Iron Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
nice change from the same old camp pies i've had. i added refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
this was great! Of course you are thinking ...its just tacos but I will tell you what.. tacos over the open flame--out in the fresh area.. really really good!!! try this the next time you go camping. The only thing I did different was that I added onions and green peppers to the meat but that is how my family likes tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good and easy to make. It takes some practice to figure out when "done" is done. The nice thing is you can let each person customize their own so everyone is happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I'm not a big fan of "traditional" mountain pies, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. I browned and seasoned the beef before we headed camping so all we had to do was make the mountain pies. We kept it really simple and cooked w/the meat & cheese and then served w/FF sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were awesome. We always have a pie iron meal when camping and have tried many different sandwiches and treats but I have to say after having these, we have a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carroll, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I can't wait to have these tomorrow when we go camping! I tried them with the pie iron but over an open flame on the stove...just to make sure it would work before I lug it all to the campground. They are delicious! I subbed flour for corn tortillas and omitted the onion. I've found a new favorite camping food! :) ****Update**** I made these camping yesterday and they we SO good! My husband couldn't believe how good they turned out...I think he was a little leery of "campfire tacos." I had precooked the beef at home so all I had to do was assemble and cook once we started our campfire. I'm sure they'll be requested whenever we camp from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was yummy. We simplified it and only did the taco meat and cheese inside. Will definetely make again and bring extra to eat more and share. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I tried these using plain bread instead of tortillas and they were really good. I didn't have any salsa so I just used ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
we tried both corn and flour tortillas, both were great. nice thing about the shells is that you don't have to watch them like bread, they never burned on us. we had some w/ground beef and other w/chicken. was a nice change from the usual burgers and dogs while camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States