Pie Crust V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and loved the crust. I took the suggestion of other contributors and used a whole egg instead of a half. Also used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening. Rolled out chilled dough between wax paper sheets and it was very easy to work with. The flavor (with 4 T.) sugar and the light flakey texture was the best crust ever! Will always use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I don't know why people said it was too flaky... for me, it was too thick and moist. I'll make it again since it's so simple but will add less butter, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Tasty crust - but very hard to work with. Wax paper is a must if you plan on using this crust. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I was looking for a pie crust like a sugar cookie and then I came across this recipe. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and used 1 egg and more sugar. I also used wax paper, however, for me it was still hard to roll out. Then I remembered some reviewers just patted out in the pie pan. This definitely worked. Well, I like this crust much better. I was never a crust person...I always ate the pie filling and left the crust. However, I like this crust and my 4 year old liked it as well. I made the crust with a sweet potato pie and it went very well with it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was very easy to make in the food processor. Definitely refrigerate this crust or it can be difficult to work with! This was a good crust for the chocolate chip pie I made it for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great crust. I used 1 whole egg as other reviews suggested and worked great. Taste very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I live in a country where shortning is expensive and doesn't come in large quantities... so this recipe saved me from having to find it and it was easy to make and yummy. I added some cinnamon and more sugar for the heck of it and made a pumpkin pie! i had rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Following others' comments that the dough was dry, I used a whole egg. The dough was perfectly textured and incredibly easy to work with. However, the crust itself didn't have a super great texture or flavor. It was kind of powdery. Not a bad crust, but not a great one either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Amazing! I used it with french silk pie and it balanced it out perfectly! I decided to make 2 in 1 day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mle4497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Pretty straightforward. I used one large egg total. Folks need to remember that flours can vary by quite a bit and experience pastry (and bread) makers know this. Perhaps the recipe should make a note to add flour or water by teaspoon until the dough sticks together in a ball. I used a pastry blender, wrapped it in a pastry cloth in the refrigerator. I always used to have a difficult time rolling out doughs until I invested in a heavy marble roller and tile. These are put in the refrigerator or freezer to make them cold to reduce the stickiness that occurs when the butter/shortening gets too warm when working. All in all, a great and easy crust. 4 stars because of lack of dough consistency hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States