Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
fantastic pie crust! not too greasy, very easy to work with and very, very flaky. one quick note from past experiences, add the ice water one tablespoon at a time and toss with a fork after each addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have now used this recipe in the following recipes: Apple Pie by Grandma Ople (from this website), Perfect Pumpkin Pie (from this website), a broccoli quiche (my mom's recipe), and a spinach and mushroom quiche (also my mom's recipe). This pie crust has been perfect every time, and makes whatever dish it is in a hundred times better. I have adopted this recipe as my everything pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2000
Good also if you substitute shortening with butter or margarin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very good! I added a couple tsp. of white sugar to give it a little extra sweetness. They say the sugar makes the dough stickier and harder to work with and to add confectioners sugar instead, but it seemed to work out fine for me. I used tips from this site and froze the shortening (use butter flavored...great taste!) before cutting it into the flour (it doesn't freeze, it just gets very cold) and I used ICE water. I then refrigerated for 30 minutes prior to rolling out. After I rolled it and placed it in the pan, I refrigerated another 30 minutes before putting my filling in (pumpkin..YUM!). This resulted in a good tasting, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
A great pie crust! I use 1/4 c. shortening and 1/4 c. butter. I also use ice water, one tablespoon at a time. For a no-bake pie (such as my favorite, fresh strawberry), bake at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. For a pie which isn't as sweet, I would also add about 1 tablespoon of sugar to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is the first pie crust recipe that I've used where I got consistent results. I didn't do anything special. I didn't refrigerate the fat to get it super cold...none of that. I just followed the recipe word for word and my crust was perfectly flaky. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Wonderful crust! Easy to work with and has a delicious taste. I mixed my dough together then threw it in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to allow it to cool. It makes it easier to roll out and keeps it from shrinking when you're trying to make it into a pie shape. This will be my usual pie recipe from now on. Oh, and in case it wasn't clear for you either (maybe it's just me) this makes dough for 1 pie, but not a double crust. If you need a top for apple pie, etc., make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Incredible. The only thing I changed is I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. Was a breeze and was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Use iced water to make a better pie crust! I also put it into the fridge for 30 mins after making it to make the pastry easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used this crust while cooking an apple pie for Thanksgiving while I was studying abroad. It was the first time I made a pie from scratch, and it was a quick success. Only recommendation is to sprinkle the crust lightly with a a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spitfyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States