Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was a good crust. Nothing spectacular but good. Next time I think that I might sub 1/4 cup of butter forthe same amount of shortening. I wish that it specified that it only made a single crust. All in all a decent crust tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this for a chicken pot pie and everyone loved it. Easy enough to make so there is no reason to buy the pre made stuff. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Perfecting a pie crust has been my downfall for almost 45 years; they end up too tender or too tough, so have resorted to buying a Pillsbury pie crust. While it's a nice crust, I've always wished I could make a decent crust on my one. Today, I was going to make a chess pie for Sunday supper when I realized I was out of my store bought pie crust and thought I would once more attempt to make a crust. After reading about your Grandmother's cottage industry during the depression, I had to try this recipe. I can only say the trimmings that I sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar were so good, I can't wait for the reviews on the crust used in the pie. Thank you SO much for sharing this family heirloom; it now the recipe I will be using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Smooth Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I put the vegetable shortening in the fridge before using and added only 1/4 cup of very cold water. It turned out perfect I have made this twice and it has been a keeper in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This pie crust was so quick and easy to make. Dough was very easy to work with. Followed the advice of another reviewer and added a bit of sugar to the dough, probably about a teaspoon. Used this to make a fresh strawberry pie to use up some strawberries that were in my fridge. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes or so. This recipe is a very good one. It produced a nice, flaky, simple crust that I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
ok, not superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
The BEST. Every one that has this crust loves it. Makes me a great pie maker. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Tasty and reliable. I found it a little sticky to work with, but that's not a problem if you flour the rolling surface and your hands well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is the best pie crust recipe I've ever made. The dough rolls out so easy and the crust is light and flaky. I don't think you'll find a better recipe for pie crust than this one. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States