Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I am very happy with this crust. I made my brother a pie using this crust recipe, fresh rhubarb recipe from this site & a crumble topping from Martha Stewart. He states "BEST PIE EVER"... which makes it all worth it! I used 1/4 cp butter flavored crisco & 1/4 unsalted butter. The crust was very easy to work with. I didn't taste it myself and that's the only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Easy. A little tough, but that's probably my fault. Still beats frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This makes a good pie crust, and easy to make and roll out. I am sure I will make this my recipe for pie crust from now on. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is my new crust recipe! So easy to make, easy to roll and put in pie dish without breaking, bakes into a flaky, buttery delicious crust! A must have for any recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lairdsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used salted butter because it was all I had. After years of attempting to make a decent pie crust, I have found a perfect one. I agree the less you fuss with it the better it is. It's probably even better with unsalted butter like the recipe calls for. I also used Grandma Olpe's Apple Pie recipe from his site. I added a little cinnamon. Perfection! They had to know what they were doing during the Depression. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I use this for pies, pot pies, and homemade pop tarts. I also love the tuna dumplings found on this site, bake them and add them to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My first time EVER making pie crust, and this came out great! I don't think I rolled it thin enough, I wasn't sure how thin it ought to be, but it was still flaky and delicious, and really quite easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love this crust! It was really easy to make and it turned out delicious. Definitely use the solid shortening sticks, and I didn't have time to put it in the fridge so I used it at room temp. I used a fork to push it into the flour mixture and that worked great. Mashed it with the fork until it looked crumbly. I measured out my cold water and put an ice cube in it to keep it cold, and then added the water a tablespoon at a time, mixing with my fork until the mixture was a little crumbly looking still but I could push it easily together with my fingers. I didnt use all of the water, maybe 2/3 to 3/4 of it. Then I formed the dough together with my hands and rolled it out. I couldn't find a rolling pin so I used a pint glass rubbed with a little flour. I buttered my baking dish a just a little before I laid the dough, which I probably didn't need to do with all of the shortening in the dough, so it probably just added a little more flavor. Then I made a second one to use as a top crust (for Grandma Oples apple pie recipe on this site) and I put the top crust in the fridge while I made the rest of the pie. This crust turned out so great I am going to use it for all my pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is very easy and quick yet turns out flaky and tender. As I was not using for a savory pie, but for a sweet one, I added a tablespoon of powdered sugar. Like so many others, I used half butter and half butter flavored shortening in place of using all shortening. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States