Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I put the vegetable shortening in the fridge before using and added only 1/4 cup of very cold water. It turned out perfect I have made this twice and it has been a keeper in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This pie crust was so quick and easy to make. Dough was very easy to work with. Followed the advice of another reviewer and added a bit of sugar to the dough, probably about a teaspoon. Used this to make a fresh strawberry pie to use up some strawberries that were in my fridge. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes or so. This recipe is a very good one. It produced a nice, flaky, simple crust that I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
ok, not superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
The BEST. Every one that has this crust loves it. Makes me a great pie maker. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Tasty and reliable. I found it a little sticky to work with, but that's not a problem if you flour the rolling surface and your hands well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is the best pie crust recipe I've ever made. The dough rolls out so easy and the crust is light and flaky. I don't think you'll find a better recipe for pie crust than this one. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This crust is for savoury recipes only, not for sweet ones. I tried to use this as a base for lemon pie and it was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Super easy and turns out nice and flaky. It was even given the thumbs up by my very intense Aunt who regularly bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This needs 10 stars. I will use this from now on! It was sooo easy to make and FLAKY! No matter if the dish I make is savory or sweet it fits. I just adjust the salt and sugar content depending on what i am doing! A KEEPER FOR EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. I had an extremely hard time rolling the crust out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States