Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe yesterday for a pumpkin pie. I followed the directions exactly and even some of the common suggestions in the reviews and it turned out dense and chewy, definitely not light and flaky. It was edible but not enjoyable. Most of us just ate the pie filling out of the shell and left the crust - hey it saved me from consuming several calories and fat grams! I will try one of the other recipes listed instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I hate making pie crust cause they never turn out. After watching on how to make a pie crust video on this site, I sucked it up and went for it. I decided to make a recipe & a 1/2 so I can have some for the top. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. Mixed the cold cut butter with the flour & salt. Slowly added the ice water with a teaspoon till the dough stuck together by hand. Used about 5-6 teaspoons of water. Divided the dough and wrapped them in plastic and refridgerated them for about 1 hour. Took them out and rolled the bottom pie crust on a silpath so I didn't need to add extra flour. Placed the crust in the pie pan and molded it. Rolled the second dough and used cookie cutters for the top decorations. Refridgerated both crust for 30 minutes then added my fresh blackberry filling. After it was done and cooled, my husband, who loves pie crust more than the pie, gave me a big thumbs up. This will be my staple crust, when I have time to make it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Perfect every time. Makes more than enough for one crust, but not enough for a bottom and a top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Tip: Use plastic wrap if you don't have a pastry cloth - drip some water on one sheet, sprinkle a tablespoon of flour on it, then place on sheet on top of it, roll into ball and work with it as you normally would. This crust is awesome - I rolled it super thin and it still held its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This pie crust is amazing. I add a couple tablespoons extra Crisco and the crust melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
The only pie crust I can get to turn out great every single time. Only addition was an egg wash prior to baking. Don't pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I love this pie crust! All I did was throw everything into my food processor, whiz it up until it came together, and BAM! instant pie crust. I also used butter flavoured Becel instead of shortening, just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I placed the shortening in the freezer for several hours before making the pie crust, and I chilled the water in the fridge. I followed the directions exactly and the pie crust was perfect. It is the best pie crust I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Perfection every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
So easy and so good! I did substitute white whole wheat flour and as soon as I run out of shortening, I'll switch to butter. I'm sure it'll be just as good with that. One last thing, I hate working with dough so I do use my food processor to combine the ingredients. I think it works just fine. Both batches I made today turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd

Displaying results 71-80 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States