Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I placed the shortening in the freezer for several hours before making the pie crust, and I chilled the water in the fridge. I followed the directions exactly and the pie crust was perfect. It is the best pie crust I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Perfection every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
So easy and so good! I did substitute white whole wheat flour and as soon as I run out of shortening, I'll switch to butter. I'm sure it'll be just as good with that. One last thing, I hate working with dough so I do use my food processor to combine the ingredients. I think it works just fine. Both batches I made today turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This pie crust is very easy to work with and delicious. The only change I made was to not use my pastry cloth and extra flour. I used two pieces of parchment and sprayed them with cooking spray. Rolling the crust between the two pieces of parchment was easy and was even easier transferring the crust to the pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Best pie crust ever! I used earth balance butter instead of shortening and made the crust in my food processor. It was so easy that I dont even know why I had been so scared of making pie crusts. However, I do think the key is to make sure all the ingredients are as cold as possible! I have used this recipe a couple of times already and the crust comes out perfect and flakey every time! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
The best recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
easy and amazing. flaky crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss.Starr
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect pie crust. Rolls out with no problem and extremely easy to work with. Double the recipe for a nice thick crust for a large pie. I used half butter and half shortening with less water than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss.Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I was making apple turnovers, so I added some cinnamon and a teaspoon of sugar to the crust. Came out great. Would try an egg wash next time for nice browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States