Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used salted butter because it was all I had. After years of attempting to make a decent pie crust, I have found a perfect one. I agree the less you fuss with it the better it is. It's probably even better with unsalted butter like the recipe calls for. I also used Grandma Olpe's Apple Pie recipe from his site. I added a little cinnamon. Perfection! They had to know what they were doing during the Depression. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I use this for pies, pot pies, and homemade pop tarts. I also love the tuna dumplings found on this site, bake them and add them to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My first time EVER making pie crust, and this came out great! I don't think I rolled it thin enough, I wasn't sure how thin it ought to be, but it was still flaky and delicious, and really quite easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love this crust! It was really easy to make and it turned out delicious. Definitely use the solid shortening sticks, and I didn't have time to put it in the fridge so I used it at room temp. I used a fork to push it into the flour mixture and that worked great. Mashed it with the fork until it looked crumbly. I measured out my cold water and put an ice cube in it to keep it cold, and then added the water a tablespoon at a time, mixing with my fork until the mixture was a little crumbly looking still but I could push it easily together with my fingers. I didnt use all of the water, maybe 2/3 to 3/4 of it. Then I formed the dough together with my hands and rolled it out. I couldn't find a rolling pin so I used a pint glass rubbed with a little flour. I buttered my baking dish a just a little before I laid the dough, which I probably didn't need to do with all of the shortening in the dough, so it probably just added a little more flavor. Then I made a second one to use as a top crust (for Grandma Oples apple pie recipe on this site) and I put the top crust in the fridge while I made the rest of the pie. This crust turned out so great I am going to use it for all my pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is very easy and quick yet turns out flaky and tender. As I was not using for a savory pie, but for a sweet one, I added a tablespoon of powdered sugar. Like so many others, I used half butter and half butter flavored shortening in place of using all shortening. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was a great last minute recipe. Quick, easy and made from ingredients I had on hand. Good texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I've always had a hard time making pie crust. I hate it and it hates me. This pie crust actually likes me. Fast, easy, and it doesn't crumble apart as soon as I try to put it in the plate. I use homemade oat flour to roll it out. It adds a nice texture and prevents the crust from being to floury (another common mistake of mine). I wont be making anymore pies without this recipe at my side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is my first time baking a pie and I made an apple pie using this recipe for the crusts and the Grandma Ople recipe for the filling. The crusts was super flaky and tender, just like a pastry crust. My kids think this crust is better than the Marie Callender's pie crust (from the restaurant). Now that's a compliment as we all love MC's pies! I gave a slice to a friend, and she loved it so much that she immediately asked for the recipe. This crust was so easy to make! The changes I made was I used half all-purpose flour and half cake/pastry flour (low gluten flour). I also put the dough in the fridge for half an hour before rolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe yesterday for a pumpkin pie. I followed the directions exactly and even some of the common suggestions in the reviews and it turned out dense and chewy, definitely not light and flaky. It was edible but not enjoyable. Most of us just ate the pie filling out of the shell and left the crust - hey it saved me from consuming several calories and fat grams! I will try one of the other recipes listed instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I hate making pie crust cause they never turn out. After watching on how to make a pie crust video on this site, I sucked it up and went for it. I decided to make a recipe & a 1/2 so I can have some for the top. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. Mixed the cold cut butter with the flour & salt. Slowly added the ice water with a teaspoon till the dough stuck together by hand. Used about 5-6 teaspoons of water. Divided the dough and wrapped them in plastic and refridgerated them for about 1 hour. Took them out and rolled the bottom pie crust on a silpath so I didn't need to add extra flour. Placed the crust in the pie pan and molded it. Rolled the second dough and used cookie cutters for the top decorations. Refridgerated both crust for 30 minutes then added my fresh blackberry filling. After it was done and cooled, my husband, who loves pie crust more than the pie, gave me a big thumbs up. This will be my staple crust, when I have time to make it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States