Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
The best recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
easy and amazing. flaky crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss.Starr
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect pie crust. Rolls out with no problem and extremely easy to work with. Double the recipe for a nice thick crust for a large pie. I used half butter and half shortening with less water than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss.Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I was making apple turnovers, so I added some cinnamon and a teaspoon of sugar to the crust. Came out great. Would try an egg wash next time for nice browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was a good crust. Nothing spectacular but good. Next time I think that I might sub 1/4 cup of butter forthe same amount of shortening. I wish that it specified that it only made a single crust. All in all a decent crust tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this for a chicken pot pie and everyone loved it. Easy enough to make so there is no reason to buy the pre made stuff. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Perfecting a pie crust has been my downfall for almost 45 years; they end up too tender or too tough, so have resorted to buying a Pillsbury pie crust. While it's a nice crust, I've always wished I could make a decent crust on my one. Today, I was going to make a chess pie for Sunday supper when I realized I was out of my store bought pie crust and thought I would once more attempt to make a crust. After reading about your Grandmother's cottage industry during the depression, I had to try this recipe. I can only say the trimmings that I sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar were so good, I can't wait for the reviews on the crust used in the pie. Thank you SO much for sharing this family heirloom; it now the recipe I will be using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Smooth Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Fix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I put the vegetable shortening in the fridge before using and added only 1/4 cup of very cold water. It turned out perfect I have made this twice and it has been a keeper in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States