Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Please do not use vegetable shortening as it is hydrogenated. You would actually be better using LARD as it at least has a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
for mixing, I used a potato masher, and it was very effective for getting the desired consistency very quick like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I wanted to make a pie crust forever but was too nervous, I actually thought it had to be difficult -- this recipe could not be any easier and I have to say it came out absolutely amazing!! Extremely flaky and so delicious, I was proud of myself! I used Kerry Gold butter instead of shortening, it came out so good. I made a chicken pot pie using this crust but for sure will try it out on desserts... this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I normally avoid making pie crust, because I hate how complicated it can become with certain recipes. Some require that you use freezing water (with an actual layer of ice), that you place the crust in the refrigerator for some time, etc. Plus when it comes to made-from-scratch vs. store-bought, I feel like the crust is the least important part of the pie. Most people just want the filling. That said, I ran out of pre-made crusts this Thanksgiving, and had to make a from-scratch crust. This was the EASIEST recipe I've ever used, plus it was tasty and had a nice texture. This is now my default crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
First time I made a homemade pie crust and I got a thumbs up from everyone. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I'm not into baking much so I generally use store bought pastry crust. Tonight I baked a Turkey pot pie 1 ( allrecipes recipe! ) and needed extra pie crust and found this one. It turned out wonderful! Just as tasty and flaky as the store bought! And much cheaper! I will be using this one when needed and save a few bucks! Thank you so much! God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Phillips Lipsett
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Millville, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
PERFECT pie crust. I used it for two pies on Thanksgiving (pecan and apple) and used it again the next day for a Turkey Pot Pie and it's delicious for both savory and sweet. Followed recipe exactly, no need to make any changes. Thank you Jan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good, dependable basic pie crust recipe. Easy to roll out. Just what I wanted for my pumpkin pie. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow, really easy to work with! I added a tsp or so of vinegar to make it even flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect! Just what I was looking for:) Only thing I changed was I only used about 1/4 C. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States