Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good, dependable basic pie crust recipe. Easy to roll out. Just what I wanted for my pumpkin pie. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow, really easy to work with! I added a tsp or so of vinegar to make it even flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect! Just what I was looking for:) Only thing I changed was I only used about 1/4 C. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I usually don't have much luck with pie crusts, but I needed two for Thanksgiving, so I gave this recipe my best shot. I made a double recipe, and before starting I had the shortening in the freezer all day. Without a pastry cutter or food processor, I cut up the shortening in the flour using a pizza cutter. I put ice water in by the tablespoon, adding about 2/3 cup in total, and tossing the mixture with a fork after each addition. I put the dough in the freezer for about 30 minutes before I rolled it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This pie crust was exceptionally easy to work with. The only thing I would change is to just add a little bit more salt for my taste, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This pie crust is really bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This crust is very good for pot pies and pumpkin pie alike. However, I would state that it needs to have butter instead of shortening the taste and texture is much more delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I usually use a crust recipe using half butter and half shortening. I couldn't find the recipe so I used this one. I will use this recipe from now on for everything. Very light and flaky crust. Received lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent and easy pie crust. I also tried it with a cube of butter instead of shortening and it was perfect. This recipe is also plentiful, more than enough for a one crust pie allowing lots of extra overhang to make a very pretty crust edge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
FINALLY! I found the pie crust I will always use. Its perfect texture and ratio of flour to shortening. Its flaky and taste good. Since I was baking a fruit pie, I added 1 tbsp sugar to the crust. Everything else is perfect...no change at all. Really simple and easy. The secret here is just timing in baking according to your oven. DELICIOUSO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States