Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening and used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. As other reviewers said, add the water a little bit at a time. Easy and inexpensive, no need to buy any from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyu24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Great crust...so easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Like some of the users of ths recipe, I was afraid of making homemade pie crust, BUT not anymore! this recipe is easy, flakey, delicious ,friendly and quick to make. I just made a apple pie with the lattice top and it is delicious! I used butter instead of shortening. My husband said that he loves it. Since I am a baker and caterer this will work just fine for me. Store bought is fine when in a pinch, but when there is a recipe like this, why would you use store brought? Now, I just need to order some 9" pie pans and I will be in business. Thanks to the person who posted this recipe. Your grandmother did you proud by giving you this recipe and I pray that you will be blessed for your generosity. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Its the best pie crust i ever made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tane4ka77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mnhkitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This crust was perfect! We only use the Spectrum Organic Palm Oil shortening and it still came out so good and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
As a novice cook and baker, pie crust naturally scared me. Tried this recipe and it's so easy to make and turns out great! I've used it in both sweet and savory recipes and has never let me down. I like it so much because if you're out of shortening you can substitute butter or margarine or vice versa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a great pie crust it was my first home made crust. I have always been scared to make and this was so easy I will never buy premade pies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy and delicious couldn't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msryancherie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I found this recipe a little difficult to make but after making 5 pies for Thanksgiving with this crust I mastered it the third try. You definitely want to add the water by teaspoons as opposed to all at once. I also found it easier to work with the dough when I refrigerated it for 30 minutes or until it was chilled because when I didn't I found the dough to be very very sticky even with floured hands and surfaces. Overall with these few changes to the recipe the dough came out with a crunchy crust and thick dough bottom which was perfect and everyone loved it! I'm rating it 4 stars because it was difficult to work with but it tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I am so impressed with my skills ((: It was so easy to make. I used butter since I had no shortening. Very flaky. I will never look for a different recipe for pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States