Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I absoluely LOVE this recipe. I took the advice of others and added 1 tsp of sugar and 1 tsp of salt to the flour and also mixed the oil and water until creamy before adding it to the flour. I found that following the recipe as is makes enough for one pie crust with a bit left over, so I make 1.5 of the recipe for 2 pie crusts. I have used this many many times and will continue to keep making it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I was a bit skeptical as I mixed and rolled this out. It seemed pretty gooey. I did add a couple more teaspoons of flour as I rolled it out so that it wouldn't tear as I transferred it to the pie plate. But the end result is WOW. It's delicious! I used it to make an apple pie and sprinkled the top crust with a little sugar before baking. What a great recipe! Light, flakey, perfect. Even the bottom crust, which I was afraid would be soft, is firm yet delicate. I can't WAIT to make another pie with this recipe. It's a little intimidating as you're preparing it, but stick with it. The texture and flavor are among the best I've ever tasted. **just had to come back and add that my pies have now become famous in the neighborhood because of this recipe. Our friend has been heckling me all week from across the street to bake him a pie. Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe. I will never use another one as long as I live!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I've been making a similar version for years. Only I add 1 t sugar and 1 t salt into the flour and combine with a fork. Next, stir the oil and ice water (7+ T) until creamy, then pour over flour mixture. You can also pat it into a pie plate to avoid rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made this crust several times now and it always come out flaky and delicious!!! 15 minutes before throwing the ingredience together I place a bowl of ice cubes and water in the freezer, I also chill a stainless steel bowl, and measure my oil and place it too in the freezer. I mix it up quickly and shape it into an eight inch disk and place it in the fridge.(In plastic wrap) I roll it out quickly between two pieces of plastic wrap (I don't roll it with extra flour) The trick to this recipe is not to handle the crust too much and to keep it chilled. Come out perfect every time!!Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This crust was very tender and flaky just as stated by other reviewers. I followed Paulap's advice and put everything in the freezer including the oil. I also added 1tsp each of salt and sugar to the flour as many others suggested. When you wisk the oil and ice water together, it will turn white, then add it slowly to the flour. If you have a dough hook attachment on your mixer, this dough comes together in a few minutes. Very easy! I was surprised at how good it baked. I used the crust for the Luscious Chicken Pot Pie recipe on this site and it was excellent! The crust browned evenly on top and bottom, no soggy crust here. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks, Linda, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Easy easy easy. The only thing my family adds to this is 1/2 t of salt otherwise exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Wow! This was a good pie crust recipe. This is coming from someone who normally doesn't eat her pie crust. I added a tsp. sugar and some salt as suggested and I pre-mixed the water and oil. Very easy to make and turned out flakey and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is now my stanmdard go-to recipe for pie crust - it has become a firm family favorite! I usually add 1 tsp salt and, if it is for a sweet pie, 1 tbsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. My mom always makes her pies with an oil crust but I could never figure out how she did it. This is the first oil pie crust that has worked perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe for those who do not want to cut in shortening or butter. It is a hassle normally to make pie crust. I made mine with a berry filling, looks great, smells great, tastes great! I did add salt and sugar. Nice find - THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States