Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This crust was addicting! I added some salt to give it more taste. Don't increase the recipe to 1.5 times the amount (as another reviewer suggested). I did, and my pie pan was overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiyah30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very, very easy. Not as good as a crust made with shortening, and definitely not as good as one made with butter, but super easy and quick. It's pretty oily, so I was glad I rolled it out between sheets of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I needed an oil pastry recipe since I was out of shortening and this one was perfect. I live in a very dry climate and have a lot of difficulty with a traditional pie crust... even with a little extra water, they crumble and look horrible. This crust was so quick to make. Handling was somewhat challenging, I did use the plastic wrap and it rolled out fine but it was difficult for me to transfer it to the pie plate. Both crusts tore a little but compared to how my other crusts usually wind up, these were fine. I slid one off the plastic wrap and actually picked up the second one which tore less. The taste was excellent. I will be using this crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. A bit too oily for my tastes. Next time I will try and cut back on the oil a little and see how it goes. I ended up adding more than 1t of sugar since it was for a sweet type pie. Has a nice texture, will modify oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I didn't like this recipe at all, the dough had NO elasticity to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this and added the salt and sugar as mentioned in the reviews. I used it with a sweet potato filling. The pie crust was very easy to make which is why I tried it, but tasted very salty. It wasn't that good and I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
wow!!!!!! I too added a little sugar and salt to the mix and this was fabulous. It is amazing that something so easy tastes this great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I loved this! It was my first time making pie alone. I tried this because it looked easy and fast. It turned out great, I love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the best pie crust recipe I have ever tried!! However, some adjustments should be made to get the best results...use butter instead of oil, and add about 1/2 cup of sugar with a cup of flour...(or about 50% of flour) add some vanilla extract to spice up the flavor as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I added 1t sugar and 1t salt and used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour. I also mixed the 6T of water with the oil before adding it to the flour mixture. I pressed it into two pie plates for quiches...delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States