Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great recipe!! I've never been able to make flaky pie crusts before, but this does the trick. I substitute all white whole wheat flour. I also do 3/2 times this recipe to get a double crust (3 C flour, 1 C oil), and I add some salt and sugar for sweet pies. I refrigerate all of the ingredients, bowls, and spoons before stirring it together to keep everything cold, and I get the crust in the refrigerator as soon as I roll it out; it helps to give flakiness if you put a cold crust in the oven to bake. I had issues with it falling apart when I made a lattice-top, but I just mushed it back together, and it turned out great. Also, brushing the top with an egg made it shiny and gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is so easy. The cold water does need to be very cold. The key is to not over handle the dough. This recipe can be frozen and used at a later time. I also refrigerated overnight and got good results. I love being able to use canola rather than butter or shortening. I also love the ease of just pushing into the pie pan rather than rolling out. When I do roll out, I find it is easiest to roll out between to pieces of plastic wrap. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
wow Im impressed! I was searching for a recipe that didnt use shortening or lard as I had none. I came across this and glad I tried it. It tastes very good! So simple. I didnt roll it or use plastic wrap. I just balled it up then pressed it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
i love this crust! make sure the h2o is really cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good. Considering there is no butter or shortening, it's super super easy. I did 4 stars because I added a dash of salt and a few sprinkles of sugar, figuring that would make it better since I was making a dessert. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This pie crust you can't go wrong with. Easy to roll out and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
After ruining a ready pie crust in the middle of preparing a steak and ale pie, I scrambled to find a crust that would be quick and that didn't involve shortening or butter (as I was out of both). I whipped this up in 10 minutes flat. As I stuck the pie in the oven, I was convinced that I had ruined the whole dish. I didn't have time to read the other reviews, so I followed the recipe exactly. After eating his dinner, my husband proclaimed that I should be making the crust myself from now on, as mine was better than Pillsbury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This pie crust is delicious! I made it several times exactly as the recipe stated. Then I made it and added 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. sugar as others suggested. I will ALWAYS add the salt and sugar to the recipe. I noticed an improvement and found the dough to be easier to work with. EXCELLENT and VERY EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I give it 5 stars for being easy, for tasting good, and for cooking properly despite being so wet. With that said, this was not exactly what I was looking for. I needed a pie crust that could be folded over a filling, and this was not it. This is a VERY fragile dough. I'll use this again, but only for single crust pies, as it's much too difficult to move around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Never Again. Way too oily. The dough literally melted down into the bottom of the pie pan and I had to take it out and add more flour and start over TWICE! Where oh where is that oil crust recipe Betty Crocker had in its 1960's cookbook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States