Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I really didn't think it would work...but I just made it I liked it okay (doesn't taste like Grandma made it, but I'm not Grandma am I). I didn't have shortening so this worked great for my black berry pie...not soggy and the flavor didn't take away from the berries. My Daughter said it was great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This pie crust is so easy to make. I'm new to cooking so I usually go for recipes with fewest ingredients and healthy alternatives. I love that this pie crust uses canola oil instead of lard or shortening. BUT... it was NOT flaky! I am new to cooking for maybe I did not bake it right. I guess you can't do healthy with pie crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This crust is easy, quick and flaky but is missing the butter flavor you get from a traditional crust. That being said, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was fantastic! I used a tsp of salt and a tsp of sugar as recommended by others.. I thought it was a little gooey myself, but again, as recommended I added a few tsps of flour and it was perfect. It seems more gooey than it really is I think, because the end result is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great recipe!! I've never been able to make flaky pie crusts before, but this does the trick. I substitute all white whole wheat flour. I also do 3/2 times this recipe to get a double crust (3 C flour, 1 C oil), and I add some salt and sugar for sweet pies. I refrigerate all of the ingredients, bowls, and spoons before stirring it together to keep everything cold, and I get the crust in the refrigerator as soon as I roll it out; it helps to give flakiness if you put a cold crust in the oven to bake. I had issues with it falling apart when I made a lattice-top, but I just mushed it back together, and it turned out great. Also, brushing the top with an egg made it shiny and gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is so easy. The cold water does need to be very cold. The key is to not over handle the dough. This recipe can be frozen and used at a later time. I also refrigerated overnight and got good results. I love being able to use canola rather than butter or shortening. I also love the ease of just pushing into the pie pan rather than rolling out. When I do roll out, I find it is easiest to roll out between to pieces of plastic wrap. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
wow Im impressed! I was searching for a recipe that didnt use shortening or lard as I had none. I came across this and glad I tried it. It tastes very good! So simple. I didnt roll it or use plastic wrap. I just balled it up then pressed it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
i love this crust! make sure the h2o is really cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good. Considering there is no butter or shortening, it's super super easy. I did 4 stars because I added a dash of salt and a few sprinkles of sugar, figuring that would make it better since I was making a dessert. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This pie crust you can't go wrong with. Easy to roll out and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States