Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very flaky and tender crust, great texture, however, it lacks in flavor. I used it for turkey pot pie for left over Christmas turkey. Next time I will add salt and play with seasoning it with other things, too. If I were to use it for a sweet dish, like a fruit pie, I would also add sugar. Still giving it 5 stars based on how easy it was to make and to work with and the great texture and flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I used this four times. Once for blueberry/ricotta pie, once for thanksgiving leftover pot pie, once to wrap a brie (which was awesome) and once to make empanadas. I just added a little seasoning for each of the varieties but the crust has been perfect each time. I love the taste and texture, I love that it has three ingredients which I always have in my pantry and I love that it is fast and cheap. I intend to try it with sesame oil and garlic infused olive oil to add a little more flavor depending on what it's getting used with. This is a home run recipe - because everything you make with it goes out of the park!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuna Tuesday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Whoa!!! Stop whatever you were doing before with those other pie crust recipes and start using this one. It's so simple and so good. The taste was awesome. I used it on a peach pie recipe and added a pinch of salt and some sugar and it hit the spot. My husband was able to mold it easily in the glass pie pan and then used some of the extra dough for another project and just added a little bit more flour and a tad bit more of oil and water. Doubt I will be returning to the day sof shortening and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was quick and easy to make. I also added a teaspoon of sugar and salt and a pinch more flour. My first homemade crust and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This came out really great and outshone the filling on my chicken pot pie....super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was great! I've never made a pumpkin pie totally from scratch, but I did and the crust was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Wonderful pie crust. No fail, very easy. And feel a little healthier making it with canola oil vs. butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Best pie crust ever! Just made this crust with the kids for our Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. The crust was SO EASY to make, a no-fail recipe, rolled out beautifully, thanks for the recipe! The dough transferred perfectly to the pie dish and baked perfectly in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I love this pie crust. It is so easy and good. I did add salt as recommended by other reviewers. I used celery salt when making it for a chicken pot pie. This is the only recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Easy easy easy. The only thing my family adds to this is 1/2 t of salt otherwise exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States