Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Used butter instead of oil and added 2tbsp of sugar and 1tsp of salt very easy to roll and taste wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
i used spelt flour.....as well as the other alterations the other cooks mentioned- salt and sugar..... and made the most wonderful quiche ever. i highly recommend spelt flour!!!! so great. thanks for the super recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyjean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This did not turn out so good for me. It was flakey but was kinda heavy and floury tasting. I was going to add salt like some other reviewers did but forgot so maybe that would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I made this with wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and it turned out awesome. Like others suggested, I added 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made this crust several times now and it always come out flaky and delicious!!! 15 minutes before throwing the ingredience together I place a bowl of ice cubes and water in the freezer, I also chill a stainless steel bowl, and measure my oil and place it too in the freezer. I mix it up quickly and shape it into an eight inch disk and place it in the fridge.(In plastic wrap) I roll it out quickly between two pieces of plastic wrap (I don't roll it with extra flour) The trick to this recipe is not to handle the crust too much and to keep it chilled. Come out perfect every time!!Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This recipe does do what it says. I was seriously skeptical, but it worked out! I'm definitely using this again. It's important to add the sugar and the salt though so it doesn't taste "oily"--I used canola oil. Also, I didn't really understand what people meant by "creaming" the oil and water together. I just mixed it with my mixer until it was milky, and that was just fine. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I was a bit skeptical as I mixed and rolled this out. It seemed pretty gooey. I did add a couple more teaspoons of flour as I rolled it out so that it wouldn't tear as I transferred it to the pie plate. But the end result is WOW. It's delicious! I used it to make an apple pie and sprinkled the top crust with a little sugar before baking. What a great recipe! Light, flakey, perfect. Even the bottom crust, which I was afraid would be soft, is firm yet delicate. I can't WAIT to make another pie with this recipe. It's a little intimidating as you're preparing it, but stick with it. The texture and flavor are among the best I've ever tasted. **just had to come back and add that my pies have now become famous in the neighborhood because of this recipe. Our friend has been heckling me all week from across the street to bake him a pie. Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe. I will never use another one as long as I live!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Works everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. My mom always makes her pies with an oil crust but I could never figure out how she did it. This is the first oil pie crust that has worked perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Easy to make and so tender and flaky, just like the recipe says. Easy to press into place- I used individual baking dishes, so it's much faster that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States