Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I normally make a pie crust using shortening. I chose this recipe to use in a pinch when I had no shortening at home. I cut my recipe in half since I only needed one 9" crust. I added 1/2 tsp . Sugar an 1/2 tsp. Salt. I whisked the ice water and oil together before adding it to the flour mixture. After the crust was prepared and in the pie plate, I put the pie plate in the freezer while I prepared the pie ingredients. This was easy to prepare. The crust was tender, crisp and flakey. I will definatly save this recipe, it may become the one I go to first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is a great basic crust. I used it for quiche and found it the perfect base. I just recommend adding a dash of salt so it's not too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Flaky. Definitely add salt. Sugar if for a dessert. Used it for a chicken pot pie, added salt to the dough, and it was a hit. It is a bit hard to roll. Definitely chill before rolling out. It is oily but it crisps nicely in the oven. I would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very good! Doubled recipe to make lattice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
While I struggled to roll it out or even "press" it into the dish as suggested by other reviews, this was by far the best crust I have ever had or made! The flavor was perfect (with a bit of salt added) I used it for a chicken pie - so more of a savory dish. The perfect flakiness and consistancy. I made more this afternoon, but have it chilling in the fridge for later. Will certainly keep trying till I perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Shuey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I use this recipe often! works great with GF all purpose flour too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
For all intents and purposes, this recipe is great. Most likely you have all the ingredients on hand, it mixes super quickly, and it bakes up really flakey. My only concern is that it is very bland. If I were making a sweet dish I would definitely add some sugar. Since I made a chicken pot pie with it, I will add a bit of salt next time. Also, I doubled the recipe and was only able to make three crusts, so I would make even more next time. Great starter recipe that would be easily customizable and made to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I've never made a pie crust before, but because this looked so easy and I had the ingredients, I decided to give a try. I made pot pie with it, family loved it. I've also used it for apple pie and it was great for that too. So if you need a pie crust for savory or sweet dish, this is a great one to use. Such simple ingredients for a tasty crust. Thank you for sharing your recipe. God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This recipe is a good start, but I couldn't use it as-is. As many others have noted, the effort to get away from butter or lard is important, but this crust is so oily as written that it's pretty close to impossible to roll out. I added salt, extra flour (about 1/3 cup), and refrigerated it for a half hour or so to let the flour soak up the oil. Then I rolled it directly in the pie plate with a small roller gizmo that's for rolling out pizza crust (got it from Pampered Chef, as I recall). Crust turned out very well with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I am terrible at making traditional pie crust. I haven't got the patience for all the cutting in that it requires. That is why this recipe is a lifesaver! It is so easy to simply mix everything together and go. I do have a word of advice though for all those reviewers that talked about how difficult this is to work with. I completely agree. Becauses of the oil it can be hard to roll out, sticks to your paper or counter, and it shrinks up when it is baked. The simple solution to this is to refridgerate the dough for a while (I did for about 2 hours) so it can firm up a bit. Then work quickly while rolling it out and make sure to poke it with a fork all over if you are prebaking it for a custard pie. It turns out so flaky and beautiful (especially if you add an egg wash to the top to make it crisp up a bit and turns it golden). I will not even attempt another recipe any more because I had never gotten compliments on crust the way I do with this recipe. Try it! You'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States