Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was the first pastry recipe I tried, and I do not need to look further. I used the pastry to make onion and cheese turnovers for the weekly wine tasting and the consensus was delicious! This crust was very easy to handle, rolled out smoothly and even rerolled the bits with no problem. A little labor intensive working the lard in, but worth the effort. I used a generously floured pastry cloth and covered my rolling pin with a cloth cover. Wonderful recipe, no more refridgerated dough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is wonderfully flaky & delicious. You won't use the full can of soda - I usually use less than half, so add it slowly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have tryed this recipe for the first time.I made tortieres with it for christmas.They turned out wonderful! It is a very flakey tender pie crust with just a hint of sweetness.This recipe is almost fool proof, you can not go wrong with this one. I didn't even have to brush it with an egg or milk for it to turn golden brown. It is realy wonderful. This pie dough is very easy to work with also. It rolls out very nice, doesn't crack or break apart easily like the recipe I usualy use. Minde you, the recipe that I usualy use I a very good one, but this one is easier to work with and turned out great. Can't wait to try out an apple pie with this recipe. I know it will be great. I wonder if you can freeze this pie dough made with 7up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
tasted pretty good even with my "alternative" flours. Made some awesome pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Amazing! I have never made such a sticky pie crust dough and had my doubts but it made the most flaky crubbly crust ever! My new standard now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN945N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
People would never believe that pop would do the trick and that it results in the lightest and flakiest crust EVER!!! Think about it....bubbles, air, and just plain YUMMY!! I have used this recipe for 20 years and have always received rave reviews and recipe requests for the crust. Thanks a bunch for sharing!!! You really won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved the idea of the soda but only had a pumpkin spiced beer. I made 1/4 recipe in the food processor and used very cold butter instead of veg. lard. I threw in a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar for the heck of it and pulsed the dry ingredients with the butter. Then I poured in 3 oz. of the beer. I dumped it out on a floured board and lightly shaped it in a ball to be placed in the fridge wrapped in Saran. The consistency was perfect. I think the secret might be in very cold butter, a smaller recipe, and very little handling. Don't know about the taste yet but will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I was looking for a pie crust recipe to use for a coconut cream pie that I made for my dad for his birth day when I found this recipe. I am not a fan of pie crust I would prefere the pie without the crust to be honest. But this was the best pie crust I have ever eaten. And trust me I have tried many pie crust through my years of working in restaurant kitchens. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I usually use gingerale, but same idea. This is a perfect, flaky crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was tender and flakey for the pumpin and caramel apple pie for thanksgiving. It didn't hold up as well as some crusts on the third day but it was still very tasty. I am going to use it for the turkey pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States