Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was tender and flakey for the pumpin and caramel apple pie for thanksgiving. It didn't hold up as well as some crusts on the third day but it was still very tasty. I am going to use it for the turkey pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I usually use gingerale, but same idea. This is a perfect, flaky crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
tasted pretty good even with my "alternative" flours. Made some awesome pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is a great looking and easy to make crust but the soda doesn't overpower the taste of lard, as I had hoped. Perhaps butter instead of lard would give it a better flavor? Not a bad taste and the lard flavor is so slight, that most couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I was looking for a pie crust recipe to use for a coconut cream pie that I made for my dad for his birth day when I found this recipe. I am not a fan of pie crust I would prefere the pie without the crust to be honest. But this was the best pie crust I have ever eaten. And trust me I have tried many pie crust through my years of working in restaurant kitchens. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good flavor and probabaly great with fruit pie, puddings, or custards. But too bready for my pot pie. It soaked up all the broth and made the dish quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved the idea of the soda but only had a pumpkin spiced beer. I made 1/4 recipe in the food processor and used very cold butter instead of veg. lard. I threw in a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar for the heck of it and pulsed the dry ingredients with the butter. Then I poured in 3 oz. of the beer. I dumped it out on a floured board and lightly shaped it in a ball to be placed in the fridge wrapped in Saran. The consistency was perfect. I think the secret might be in very cold butter, a smaller recipe, and very little handling. Don't know about the taste yet but will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is wonderfully flaky & delicious. You won't use the full can of soda - I usually use less than half, so add it slowly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was the first pastry recipe I tried, and I do not need to look further. I used the pastry to make onion and cheese turnovers for the weekly wine tasting and the consensus was delicious! This crust was very easy to handle, rolled out smoothly and even rerolled the bits with no problem. A little labor intensive working the lard in, but worth the effort. I used a generously floured pastry cloth and covered my rolling pin with a cloth cover. Wonderful recipe, no more refridgerated dough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this pie crust for a pie I entered into the state fair. Although I won 2nd place, I don't think I liked this recipe. The crust was tasty, however, I found that it was hard to mess with & seemed to be very sticky & very difficult to roll out. Would now make it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States