Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent pie crust and very easy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Amazing!!!! I used this recipe, as written, to make the tops for the three pies I made last night. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This pie crust is wonderful! I had never made pie crust before, and this one is easy & has always been very flaky & tasty! I followed directions exactly, and used lard for the shortening. I also made sure the lard was cold. Very good, will not be buying pie crusts in the future, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this exactly as written. Light and flaky yes, but no flavor. Looking at the ingredient list will tell you that. I think it could be improved with butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made it with potato-cheese filling (mashed potatoes, generous amounts of cheese, onion, milk, pepper and salt) and ended up eating the sides before the filling! Nice and flaky, suitable for savory fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the first crust that worked for me, with a bit of experimentation. I make the following changes. 1, Use 3 cups of flour, 1 of shortening, 1.5 spoons of salt for 2 9" pie crusts. 2. Mix the flour, shortening and salt in a food processor, then turn the mixture out into a bowl before adding water. 3. Start mixing the water in with a fork, then mix the last water in using hands. 4. Roll out with a rolling pin. Use this for apple pie. Bake for 375 degrees for 40 mins, then 15 mins at 400 degrees, brushing the top crust with beaten egg before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Hubby LOVES this crust =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
okay im giving this recipe a 3 star because of 2 reasons. 1 it didnt appear to be the flaky melt in your mouth crust I was hoping for, and two although it is a good crust for pot pies etc, for fruits and others its just not that great... will keep looking sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deevarey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I used 1/2 tsp salt- but everything else was the same, and my pie came out soooo delicious. It is the perfect pie crust with just the right flaky texture and savory taste. It went great with cherry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States