Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Perfect pie crust.Good texture and turns golden brown.I will continue to use this crust when baking pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a favorite pie recipe. The secret to a tender crust is not handling the crust. You can see in the background the pie crust was rolled using a pastry cloth (& rolling pin cover.) I also use a slightly rounded amount of shortening by adding 2 Tablespoons butter at room temp. After cutting dough together, I add liquid, scoop together with a rubber scrapper. Don't handle, warmth of your hand melts shortening making crust tough. Dump on lightly flowered pastry cloth, pull dough into ball by using opposite corners of cloth and cross your hands over & pulling across dough till ball is formed. It may take a few pulls to accomplish. Cut in 1/2 with large knife & push 1/2 aside with knife for the top, again not touching dough. Roll out & place in pan. Crimp & poke with holes. If I'm making a pumpkin pie I pre bake with top edges covered with foil for about 5 min. & than pour filling in pricked crust. No, it won't leak & the bottom doesn't get soggy. I remove foil the last 15 min. baking time so the edges won't over brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My mom's crust recipe, and Gram's before her. Of course, Gram used lard, and you can too, if you want the ultimate in pie crust. :) I cheat and use my electric mixer rather then a pastry blender- it's faster and easier- just blend on a low speed till the mixture resembles...corn meal? Sort of like that. It only takes a minute or so. This recipe really should make enough for 2 crusts, but if you're using deep dishes, you may want to add a third to it- 3 cups flour, 1 cup shortening, etc. And definitely add your water a tablespoon at a time- different types of flour, differing humidities, and so on will all affect the amount of water needed. The less you handle it after adding water, the flakier and more tender it will be. My sister now uses half butter, half Crisco, and swears by it- I'll try that today. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a great pie crust recipe. Though the amount was just barely enough for a thin crust. Maybe try increasing the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
First time I have ever made a pie crust from scratch. The crust was almost like a bread-y cracker, if that makes sense! lol Followed the recipe to a T and it is ESSENTIAL to mix the water one tablespoon at a time and wait until its fully incorporated before adding the next. I put it on my pie plate and let it sit in the fridge while I worked on my filling. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A bit bland and I could taste the shortening. Kids didn't like it. Next time I may add a tablespoon of sugar and maybe use butter flavor shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I had the hardest time rolling out this crust. I used 7 tbsp of water, as it was very stiff with 6. It kept tearing, and the edges frayed, and I ended up piecing it together best I could. Not the most user-friendly pie crust I've ever tried. However, I used butter flavor Crisco and the flavor was excellent and very flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used the multiplier to make crusts for 6 pies, beware the amt of water you use when doubling this recipe better to work by tablespoons when adding. Also bagged up the dough and refrigerated over night then rolls out each crust while keeping the others in the fridge - easy as pie! Stuck to the rolling pin only a couple of times out of 6crusts - I'm saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I loved this crust. I use it now for all my pie baking. One reveiw said they only got one crust but they must have done something wrong because I have always gotten two crust out of it. This is the best I have tried and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I used butter rather than shortening. Otherwise, it was exactly what I wanted - a basic crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States