Pico De Gallo de Alicia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made the recipe. I always follow someone's recipe exactly the first time I make it. II have to say I'm sorry I followed this one and I disliked it. As far as I'm concerned the cumin does not belong in this recipe. Although I use cumin often when I cook, this recipe isn't good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Amazing! Doubled the cream for more sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I never made pico de gallo before and it turned out great. I made steak fajitas and put the pico de gallo on with some white rice and corn and it greatly enhanced the fajitas. I used 3 tomatoes and 3/4 of a red onion, I will definitely be making this for my next get together with friends. Great recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I quadrupled the recipe and it turned out fine. I am not giving it 5 stars for several reasons: I find that salsa recipes stating quantities of tomatoes and onions are inaccurate as tomato sizes vary largely. I replaced "2 tomatoes" to be "two CUPS of tomatoes" and likewise for the onion. The 2:1 ratio for tomatoes and onion in Pico seems to work really well. I did the same with the cilantro, converting the sprigs into tablespoons. After it was all said and done, I added sugar to mine (would be 1.5 teaspoons for the original recipe) as this always seems to just finish off a good pico for us. Kudos on NO VINEGAR as I feel vinegar ruins pico. The lime juice quantity was a bit more than other recipes I have used and we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful difference it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is so good and so fresh tasting. I have tried numerous pico de gallo recipes but have to say this is definitely my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is the best Pico de Gallo I have ever eaten. I made it just as the recipe was written. My husband can't get enough of it. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I had to triple the tomatoes - mine were pretty small and my jalapenos were large - I also added a LOT more cilantro, 2 sprigs of my cilantro was only about 10 leaves. I also ended up adding more lime - it just depends on how juicy your limes are. Sorry, but I ended up making this with white onion - I swear I had red onion but could not find it. White onion was great though. (BTW - I found the red onion about a half hour after I had made this.) Next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I used Roma tomatoes in this recipe. After I diced them up, the amount looked quite small before I even folded in the other ingredients. I diced up four more and that looked right to me. I did not use a full red onion, just half. I did not have garlic salt, I used regular salt. Very tasty salsa--the longer it sits, the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Excellent salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States