Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Tony! This is an awesome recipe! Thanks! For anyone thinking of making this, here's a few suggestions: 1) Don't skip making the pico de gallo. . . that's what makes this recipe so good. The flavor is wonderful! 2) Reading through the reviews, it appears some of you are having problems flipping the 12" tortilla. Here's a quick and easy way to flip it. When the tortilla is ready to flip, take a dinner plate and lay it upside down in the pan on top of the tortilla. Put your hand on top of the plate and flip the entire pan over so that the plate and tortilla are now in your hand. Now, simply slide the tortilla back into the pan and "voila" your flipped without the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Senor Cortez--This is the best, by far, recipe I have ever tasted for Pico de Gallo. Combining it in a chicken quesadilla was a work of genius, or family background. Using fresh cilantro is imperitive to the overall good taste, as are fresh ripened tomatoes. I followed your recipe to a T, but did prepare the pico de gallo about 3 hours prior to cooking to let the flavors completely meld. I also did mine in the oven, lightly coating the lower tortilla with canola oil, then adding the cheese and ingredients, and coating the top tortilla lightly with oil, and baked in a 375 degree oven for about 20 to 25 minutes. Again, mucho gracios for this delicious recipe. I will quadruple the recipe the next time in order to feed a few friends. GordonGoodGuy, and Chef Extrordinaire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
You CAN go back home again! I'm from Texas and sorely missed Tex-Mex food. This recipe is perfect and outperforms most restaurants easily. The pico de gallo stands alone and can be made as dip for tortilla chips..outstanding! I would recommend NOT boiling/stewing the chicken as another reviewer suggests, because so much of the flavor comes from the chicken pan drippings created by cooking it in the olive oil. It provides that essential grilled-type taste like fajitas. Also, DO use the plate and slide method another reviewer suggests...absolutely no problems with turning them over or messiness. One final tip: don't load up the centermost part of the quesadilla because when you cut it like a pie to eat, the tip is overweighted and makes for a messy meal with filling falling out too easily. Muchas gracias, Senor Cortez. Era lo mejor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This was quick and easy to make. I don't know what the people were talking about when they said it took too long to chop everything. It was no longer than to fix a typical evening meal. I will say that I did use the pre-cooked and sliced southwestern chicken slices (I'm sure that saved quite a bit of time - other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was soooo good - especially the pico de gallo. The grocery store didn't have any jalapeno peppers - just anaheim - still turned out excellent. My husband and I are on a low carb diet - we just used low-carb tortillas, gave the kids flour tortillas and it was great. (I followed the advice of another reviewer - I sprayed olive oil in a pan, placed a tortilla on the bottom, placed all the ingredients on, put another torilla on top, sprayed it with olive oil and baked in a 350° oven for about 10 minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Pico de Gallo was great! We marinated the chicken in a chicken taco seasoning and then grilled the chicken rather than cooking on the stovetop. In addition, we heated the quesadillas on the George Foreman grill instead of the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Fabulous taste - worth the chopping effort - I eat mine with sour cream on top - also I had trouble flipping and finally decided to only put filling on half the tortilla and then fold the non filled cheese covered half over the top of the filling - then I could heat each side just right - plus when I cut it to serve it didn't goo out the folded side so it was easier to cut and eat !! Awesome recipe you've got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Very easy and delicious!!!! Only thing I changed was to grill the whole chicken breast (with salt and freshly ground black pepper) and then cut it into 2 inch strips. I found that cutting 2 inch pieces from a raw chicken breast causes the pieces to "puff" while cooking which was a little cumbersome to place into the quesadilla. Thanks Tony for a refreshing way to eat chicken!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Wonderful! My husband asks for these all the time now! I added mushrooms and used mozarella cheese. Also, as an alternative, try baking your quesadillas in the oven on 350 for about 10 minutes instead of heating in a skillet. If you like yours crunchy, broil for about 2 minutes after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
The best quesadilla recipe on this site so far! I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained and also used half a 4.5 oz can of diced jalapeno peppers and due to lack of lime, I used 1/2 TBLS lime juice...VERY GOOD and will remember this pico de gallo part for tacos and other dishes, plus I saved on some chopping time. In addition, after filling the tortillas with the cheese and chicken mix, I just heated them in the oven for a few minutes (rather than heating over the stove steps). We topped them with all our favorites! Served with "Best Spanish Rice" on this site...great meal and will make again!! Thanks Tony!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Amazing!! Followed recipe with the exception of different shredded cheese (just our preference), a tiny bit less onion, more tomato...again, personal preference and we use wheat tortillas. Nothing was left. HIGHLY recommend!! An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAYCOOLJULES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States