Picnic Potato Salad with No Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I LOVE this recipe. I love the flavours... a bit of tang offset by the sweetness of the new potatoes. I have made this multiple times and I only use new potatoes (so I only make it May/June) and I skip the blue cheese... and I find myself diving into the fridge with a fork to eat this as a snack (which is not like me!). This recipe makes all other potato salads feel like "french fries"... in other words yummy but bad for you. Instead, when you make this it's yummy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Wain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
It is awesome. I do double the dressing, and added crumbled bacon, and other than that it is wonderful! My whole family requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
So yummy and easy. As others have said, be careful to not overcook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveSamson
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe, but I substitute the blue cheese with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used this recipe for a family reunion, and it was a great selection for a hot day. The only changes I made (I know, I can't stand it when people make changes the first time they make the recipe, but I did it.) I substituted feta cheese in place of the blue cheese just because we prefer the feta, and I added bacon. I followed the directions and folded the cheese into the rest of the ingredients just before serving. However, I should have just added it all prior to taking it. The potato salad was still fine the next day. It held up well, and the feta was not a problem in terms of breaking down. It's always easier to prepare the entire dish a few hours before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
very interesting, different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It just didn't do it for us. I tried to salvage it by adding mayo and some of our usual ingredients which made it just barely edible. I may try it again in a small batch just to give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
LOVED this recipe!! It was a hit with everyone who tried it! Definitely a keeper :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great salad. I have been enjoying a variation of same potato salad recipe for many years courtesy of my German Mother-in law and now my wife makes it. We make it frequently. Differences are small and optional. Mother-in law would coarsely chop several dill pickles to add along with a good dose of the dill pickle juice. Lots of coarse ground black pepper. She used cider vinegar, I've used balsamic, love both. We also will eat it hot. Makes great sandwiches using fresh hard rolls. Shredded hard boiled eggs or pickled eggs are a must. Make a day ahead and refrigerate for better flavor. My wife was raised on this, it's great! A little touch of fresh ground horseradish is a great option also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States