Picnic Potato Salad with No Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious. Several of my guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I enjoyed the flavors in this, but it seemed kind of boring. Feels like it needed more ingredients. I used feta instead of blue cheese and that was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good. I used white balsamic to improve the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Flavors were nice, but balsamic vinegar turned the potatoes a very unappetizing color. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is my go-to potato salad for some years now, as we are not so keen on mayo based dressings.We love it and it's a hit wherever I have taken it up to now! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Gotta give this an A+!!! And for those of us who must limit the starchy veggies, here are a few possible red tater substitutions that my family loves: kohlrabi, yams, turnips, and (the kids' favorite) jicama. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this recipe as is. It very good and tasty, but next time i'll be making it with white balsamic, the potatoes were dark brown color ,it did not look very appetizing. So for that I will give it 3stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Our neighborhood potluck during the Memorial Day weekend was a perfect opportunity to make potato salad. I truly dislike potato salads made with mayonnaise, so I decided to try this one. It was unbelievably delicious! I made a few changes. Rather than boil the potatoes, I quartered, oiled (olive oil) and roasted them in a preheated oven for 30 minutes at 400°. I removed them from the oven before they got mushy and let them cool down before proceeding. I substituted a little red wine vinegar for some of the balsamic since I have a VERY thick, syrupy balsamic that tends to be very sweet. I used Trader Joe's Aioli garlic mustard. I wanted a salad with a bit more crunch, so I increased the amounts of the red onion, and I also added half of a large red bell pepper, chopped. I added 2 tablespoons of chopped parsley to the basil and chives…and I doubled the amount of basil in the recipe. Finally, I substituted Trader Joe's crumbled goat cheese for the blue cheese. Wonderful blend of sweetness from the balsamic, heat from the black pepper & mustard, crunch from the red onion and bell pepper, and tang from the goat cheese. I'm going to make this for the Fourth of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this without the cheese and used regular white vinegar. The recipe came out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was excellent; it was actually refreshing at a hot humid barbeque! I doubled the recipe; I had to really check the potatoes after about 20 minutes so they didn't overcook. I used white balsamic and shook everything in a jar, then put it together half at a time. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States