Picnic Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I am so surprised at the reviews on this one. I have been making this recipe for years and EVERYWHERE I bring it people always want the recipe. The only thing I do is omit the salt and pepper but everything else stays and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The basic ingredients are fine, but the proportions need adjustment. I used mini bow-tie pasta, and would cut the pasta back to 1/2 to 3/4 pound. I used a whole cucumber, seeded and chopped; 2 cups of chopped broccoli; a whole red pepper, seeded and chopped. I combined the rest of the ingredients to make a dressing, then added it to the pasta and vegetables. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added 3 tablespoons of Miracle Whip. After adjustments, I really did enjoy the flavor, with the mustard being a nice change of pace from the usual creamy pasta salad. The recipe as written makes a huge amount, so I probably won't make a full recipe again unless it's for a church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My family and I normally LOVE pasta salads,but this one was not the best one that I have ever had. It was way too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
We had this at our end of the summer picnic and everyone loved it. We couldn't stop picking at the veggies. I used tomotoes, cucumbers, olives, red onion, yellow bell peppers and broccoli. It was a nice colorful dish for a buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I normally agree wholeheartedly with the reviews / ratings -- but this recipe was VERY bland & no one liked it - I double checked that I prepared it correctly -- not a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I'm sorry but this recipe just didn't do it for me. I made it based on previous reviews, but I'm afraid I won't be making this again. Sorry, Jennifer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this salad. I omitted the mushrooms because I don't like them and I halved the sugar as some of the other reviewers suggested. It was still a little sweet so I may cut it back some more next time. I look forward to making this at the next family get together. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
this recipe was vwey tasty. I used a little less green pepper. because we do care for them. My husband liked this and he is not a big fan of black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Montgomery, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Reading the previous reviews helped me make this recipe work! The sugar definately needs to be cut in half and adding more veggies and red onion worked great. Another dish to add to my collection where people are always asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I reviewed this previously but forgot the stars! This is a great recipe! I too cut the sugar some and doubled the veggies. We love the crunch of onions, bell peppers, cucumbers, even squash. I just check out what the store has when I go. We fix this for all types of gatherings all year long and it is very well received. Just thought after all the lower reviews, I needed to stand up for one of my favorite stand-bys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States