Picnic Marinated Summer Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was a pretty simple recipe. I made a sugar free version and a couple other adjustments. I made the portion larger by adding broccoli slaw to the mix. For the marinade, I used Apple cider vinegar, grapeseed oil, stevia powder, sea salt, and fresh ground pepper. This is definitely something I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this just as directed, except for the optional green pepper. At first I thought this was awesome, but after a couple of bites it started to turn my stomach because it was so sweet. I should have known better when I saw the 1/2 cup of sugar in the ingredients, but I gave it a shot anyways. I tried to remedy this by adding in some more salt & pepper and some basil - it helped a bit, but it was still not as palatable as I would hope for. I just personally am not a fan of sweet vinaigrette dressings. I would like to try this again though with some fresh summer veggies from the garden. Next time I think I will try it with apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, and dill and omit the sugar. If you like sweet vinaigrette though, you're going to love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I substituted the apple cider vinegar and added a little balsamic as well. I also added a little Italian seasoning to the dressing. It was a huge hit at a barbecue. Nice and refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Great Coleslaw. Followed the directions precisely. Marinated over night and all the flavors blended. Served using a slotted spoon as there was a lot of pooling liquid in the bottom. Next time I serve it, I will drain off the liquid right before I set it on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is an easy, light summer slaw. I followed the recipe except left out the cucumbers just because I don't care for them. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was very good for our camping trip. I made it ahead and put in a tight Tupperware container. Everybody raved about it, I did add in some celery seed since I really like that in coleslaw and used white wine vinegar. One thing I did was cut the sugar down by almost half, oil and vinegar down some also, it seemed like an awful lot for just 10 ounces, and glad I did, still a great amount of liquid and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Hubby & I LOVED this. I made a half batch & we finished it off in 1 meal. I did not use the green pepper & used red onion in place of the green onion, only because that's all I had on hand. I think I'll up the vinegar a bit for me for a bit more kick but hubby said he loved it BECAUSE it wasn't heavy on the "kick". Great recipe that'll be a repeat year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was awesome...I used Splenda instead of real sugar and everyone raved about this cole slaw. Will definately make it again and again. So much better than using mayo. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Lots of good comments when I made this and many wanted the recipe. I made it just as is and it was great. Goes really good with ribs and corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States