Pickled Watermelon Rinds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Never had watermelon pickles, never put anything in a jar before, but hey, there's a first for everything. I did change it up a bit. I used half raspberry wine vinegar with half apple cider venegar, 8 cinnamin sticks and a few dashes of ground cinnamin, also 1/8 tsp ground mustard. no cheese cloth, just left them in the pot and canning that way to get the most flavor. (Almost didnt have enough sugar either). I'm terrible about checking ingredients FIRST! But it still came out fabulous and the whole family likes them. I havent even gotten them into the jars yet and people are digging in. Yea me. one point for the horrible chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have never tried pickled watermelon rind before. An old farmer told me I was missing out. Tried this recipe and WOW! it's not only very easy recipe to follow but the pickles have a superb taste. I am crazy for pickled items I place this one over refg pickles, and pickled beets. Great with a cheese & cracker platter and some wine. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Irs a very good recipe just what I wanted thank you.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made these as my first pickling adventure, and also my first time using watermelon rinds. I made "refrigerator" pickles instead of canning them. They are ok, but the vinegar taste is too strong for me. I think next time I will dilute the vinegar. My boyfriend really liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent! Just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made these following recipe but the results were a sour,salty,soft pickle. The watermelon pickles I have had before were very sweet not really firm but not wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Sounds wonderful! Am trying a "quick" version w substitutions; will let you know next wk how it turns out...ac vinegar, water (1/2 & 1/2), sugar, salt, cinnamon, cloves and cardemom, didn't have mustard seed, threw in some orange peel...and since I don't know what I'm doing, I'm using the rind, very thin white and some pink...We'll see ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved the recipe-made without the mustard seed. I didn't remember my mom using that ingredient, so I left it out. When I took a jar over to the nursing home to visit an elderly relative, several people there sampled. Their consensus-the pickles tasted like they remember making/eating them when younger. They should know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I didn't want these to get too rubbery in texture so I didn't boil them as long as stated. I hope this makes no difference in the canning of them as to them staying viable in the jars for the duration. The jars did seal and I opened one up after two weeks. I was pleasantly surprised, these are delish! Beware these are addictive, but sooooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have always heard of pickled watermelon rinds but never had the spunk to complete the task of actually doing it. I have to say that since I've made them me and my whole family LOVE them. The taste is similar to a sweet pickle so I love substituting them in recipes. I had a great time making them and an even better time enjoying them. I now make them with every watermelon we buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States