Pickled Watermelon Rinds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have never tried pickled watermelon rind before. An old farmer told me I was missing out. Tried this recipe and WOW! it's not only very easy recipe to follow but the pickles have a superb taste. I am crazy for pickled items I place this one over refg pickles, and pickled beets. Great with a cheese & cracker platter and some wine. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Irs a very good recipe just what I wanted thank you.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made these as my first pickling adventure, and also my first time using watermelon rinds. I made "refrigerator" pickles instead of canning them. They are ok, but the vinegar taste is too strong for me. I think next time I will dilute the vinegar. My boyfriend really liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent! Just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made these following recipe but the results were a sour,salty,soft pickle. The watermelon pickles I have had before were very sweet not really firm but not wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Sounds wonderful! Am trying a "quick" version w substitutions; will let you know next wk how it turns out...ac vinegar, water (1/2 & 1/2), sugar, salt, cinnamon, cloves and cardemom, didn't have mustard seed, threw in some orange peel...and since I don't know what I'm doing, I'm using the rind, very thin white and some pink...We'll see ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved the recipe-made without the mustard seed. I didn't remember my mom using that ingredient, so I left it out. When I took a jar over to the nursing home to visit an elderly relative, several people there sampled. Their consensus-the pickles tasted like they remember making/eating them when younger. They should know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I didn't want these to get too rubbery in texture so I didn't boil them as long as stated. I hope this makes no difference in the canning of them as to them staying viable in the jars for the duration. The jars did seal and I opened one up after two weeks. I was pleasantly surprised, these are delish! Beware these are addictive, but sooooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have always heard of pickled watermelon rinds but never had the spunk to complete the task of actually doing it. I have to say that since I've made them me and my whole family LOVE them. The taste is similar to a sweet pickle so I love substituting them in recipes. I had a great time making them and an even better time enjoying them. I now make them with every watermelon we buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I haved looked awhile for this recipe. It turned out great. I will pass this along to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States