Pickled Watermelon Rinds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
A very unusual recipe...and to be quite honest, these weren't even tasty. Very bland despite the pickling. Don't think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe is a very very OLD one... it's from the days of the depression and before. My family is Polish though I'd never be able to accurately say this is a Polish recipe. I could comfortably refer to it as an Old World recipe. *** People certainly saved most everything and pickled many things the average person wouldn't understand or even think appetizing. *** My Grandmother made these every Summer and they were a big hit and a standard item on the dinner table. It's certainly an acquired taste and you NEED to let them pickle for a duration of time to get the full taste. Most people try them and are surprised to learn they are watermelon rinds. They are flavorful, sweet and tangy. *** This recipe is rather close to our family's recipe. *** I am pretty sure, my Grandma stuffed the jars with the rinds, cinnamon sticks and the other spices then poured the brine into the jars, then properly followed her typical canning procedure. As a child, I seem to remember the rinds being raw or blanched (they were firm) when they went into the jars. I would have to confirm with other family members about this.. but can assure you these rinds were cut in longer 3-4 inch lengths. I don't believe she colored her brine too often, but seem to remember seeing a few green Watermelon Pickles on extended family member's tables. *** This recipe isn't for everybody.. but for those who enjoy Watermelon Pickles, this would be a great recipe to try! Just don't limit the spices when boi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have not tried this recipe yet, but I remember this from years past when my grandparents used to make this. It was very good and I used to use it as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vessigny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Tried this recipe because my Husband had eaten it as a child, tho I'd never heard of it. What a pleasant surprise!! If you enjoy Sweet Pickles, you'll like this, as did all my family & co-workers!! My first batch was with 1 rind as per the recipe, but after increased demand, my next batch I used 2 rinds. I increased the cider vinger to 2 quarts & the suger to 3 cups, also over mesured the spices slighty. Tasted just like the first batch!!! Note: My Husband used the discarded spice bag in his garage for a week! What a wonderful smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
YUMMMMY!!! We love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I grew up canning and eating watermelon pickles at my grandmother's and great-grandmother's. They have always been my favorite pickles. When we make them though, we never brine them overnight or pre-boil them in water. Just put the vinegar, spices and rind in a stock pot and boil until translucent, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Then put in about six pint jars and seal. This a lot faster and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I tried this reciepe to a T, and the finished product resulted in a flimsy,wilted pickle...the flavor was nice, but the over all presentation was not executed well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
pickled watermelon is an acquired taste, but I do like the stuff. I had a recipe I liked and lost so tried this one. I liked my old one better. Not sold on liking mustard seed in my watermelon.**woo hoo found my old one! It has more sugar, as well as lemon and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I haved looked awhile for this recipe. It turned out great. I will pass this along to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have always heard of pickled watermelon rinds but never had the spunk to complete the task of actually doing it. I have to say that since I've made them me and my whole family LOVE them. The taste is similar to a sweet pickle so I love substituting them in recipes. I had a great time making them and an even better time enjoying them. I now make them with every watermelon we buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Blueberries

See how to make sweet, tangy pickled blueberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States