Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I felt that the sugar/vinegar ratio was off here. This tasted more like it should have been entitled "sweet and sour eggs" rather than pickled eggs. I had to add a lot more vinegar to offset the sweetness. With that change they were just what I was looking for. Very beautiful in color too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Does anyone have the secret to peeling eggs. I punch a hole in the bottom and they just do not come off the shell. They look awful !!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I added a 2 more cans of beets- there did not seem to be enough juice to cover the eggs- plus my husband will eat the extra beets. My mother in law makes beet eggs for Easter every year-she would not give me the recipe-I asked her for it a few times and she kept ignoring me- well she can keep her stinking recipe because this one is real close to hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These were so simple to make, I have been searching for a recipe to make these and Iam so glad that i used this one, I made them for my Father and he loved them they reminded him of the ones his late mother in law used to make, Now he cant get enough of them and of course now others in the family want to try them! Thank you so much for putting this recipe on here!!! You made it possible for me to give my Dad a little bit of the past! If anyone is looking to try and make pickled eggs you gotta try this recipe....It's just to simple!! A few tips that worked for me were putting approx. 6 eggs in a small wide mouth mason jar and then pouring the mixture over them also i have been doubling the mixture i get about 4-5 jars that way also i dont use all the beets i just put as many of them that will fit in the jar, then i just let them sit in the refrigerator, my dad is my taste tester he said the best ones were the ones that were in the frig for 4 weeks the longer they sit they do taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Perfect, perfect, perfect! The PA Dutch really do know what they're doing when it comes to down home cooking. (maybe I'm a little biased being from PA and all). This recipe is exactly what I was looking for and my husband just loves pickled eggs so I had to try this. I made this a week ago and the verdict is in... (drumroll please). We have a winner! He loved them and now wants me to make more (how many eggs can one person eat may I ask?). I used 6 hard-cooked eggs vs. twelve because that's all I could fit into the jar, layering them with the beets, red onion slices, and juice. I didn't change a thing with the mixture and let them set for one full week. When we cut open the first egg it was a perfect deep reddish-pink color all the way through to the yellow yolk! These are definitely worth the time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
My mother made this recipe too. She used to put the beets and onions in a large jar first. Then the eggs and screw on the top. Turn it upside down in the frig for about 2-3 days. The eggs turn deep red and are delicious! I think she added a bay leaf, but I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
The recipe didn't tell you what kind of vinegar to use. I used 1/2 cup cider vinegar and after adding the 1/4 cup sugar I found it was to tart. I added 1/2 cup more sugar and after adding the juice off the red beets to the vinegar and sugar I added 1/2 can of water to the can of red beets and poured the water and beets in my vinegar and sugar. The taste was just like I remembered when my grandmother made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
My family has been makeing "pickeled eggs" for as long as i can remember but these are the best i have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty415

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Although this tasted fine, there is not enough liquid in the recipe to cover both the eggs and the beets. I had to stir often, and did not get the uniform color I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This is the recipe that I have been looling for...Exactly the same as my grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States