Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I omitted the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
My mother made this recipe too. She used to put the beets and onions in a large jar first. Then the eggs and screw on the top. Turn it upside down in the frig for about 2-3 days. The eggs turn deep red and are delicious! I think she added a bay leaf, but I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This is the recipe that I have been looling for...Exactly the same as my grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I can't believe I could find a recipe just like my Moms'!!! Brings back Happy memories, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Although this tasted fine, there is not enough liquid in the recipe to cover both the eggs and the beets. I had to stir often, and did not get the uniform color I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I added a 2 more cans of beets- there did not seem to be enough juice to cover the eggs- plus my husband will eat the extra beets. My mother in law makes beet eggs for Easter every year-she would not give me the recipe-I asked her for it a few times and she kept ignoring me- well she can keep her stinking recipe because this one is real close to hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These were so simple to make, I have been searching for a recipe to make these and Iam so glad that i used this one, I made them for my Father and he loved them they reminded him of the ones his late mother in law used to make, Now he cant get enough of them and of course now others in the family want to try them! Thank you so much for putting this recipe on here!!! You made it possible for me to give my Dad a little bit of the past! If anyone is looking to try and make pickled eggs you gotta try this recipe....It's just to simple!! A few tips that worked for me were putting approx. 6 eggs in a small wide mouth mason jar and then pouring the mixture over them also i have been doubling the mixture i get about 4-5 jars that way also i dont use all the beets i just put as many of them that will fit in the jar, then i just let them sit in the refrigerator, my dad is my taste tester he said the best ones were the ones that were in the frig for 4 weeks the longer they sit they do taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This is such a good recipe! I dislike beets a lot, but what it does for boiled eggs redeems them to yummy by my vote! Very easy recipe with great tasting results. This liquid didn't 'cover' all the eggs so I rotated the mix every so often. Thanks for sharing this recipe..reminds me of my Grandma's when I was growing up! :) (Only used 1/2 of a brown onion and it came out just fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This was a very tasty pickled eggs... I make them all the time! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States