Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
There wasn't enough juice to cover the eggs and I was very disappointed in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Awsome. I did reduce the sugar and up the vinegar. But these are so pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
My family has been makeing "pickeled eggs" for as long as i can remember but these are the best i have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty415

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
These are so good. Just like my mother used to make. I always make at least 4 cans of beets and adjust the recipe accordingly. If I don't hide them my kids are into them as soon as they cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENIESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have never ate pickled eggs before so I have nothing to compare them to. I followed the recipe exactly and I REALLY like them! I never cared for plain hard boiled eggs but I really do like them pickled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
1.22.06 I agree about the vinegar/sugar ratio - too much sugar! So, I combined this recipe with the one for Spiced Pickled Beets on this site - 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, 2 tbsp sugar. With this adjustment, this was very good! (Btw, I made this with regular bottled beets, or beetroot as we call them back home)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I felt that the sugar/vinegar ratio was off here. This tasted more like it should have been entitled "sweet and sour eggs" rather than pickled eggs. I had to add a lot more vinegar to offset the sweetness. With that change they were just what I was looking for. Very beautiful in color too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was okay, but I would recommend using less beets. Try adding some dijon mustard, maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
The recipe didn't tell you what kind of vinegar to use. I used 1/2 cup cider vinegar and after adding the 1/4 cup sugar I found it was to tart. I added 1/2 cup more sugar and after adding the juice off the red beets to the vinegar and sugar I added 1/2 can of water to the can of red beets and poured the water and beets in my vinegar and sugar. The taste was just like I remembered when my grandmother made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Very good! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States