Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great recipe. To Roe who asked the secret to pealing eggs...chill in ice bath imediatly after pulling off stove top then peal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My family has made pickled eggs for years and although this recipe is VERY similar, mine is a little different. I use 2 cans of small whole beets to 12-18 eggs. Cook and peel the eggs. In a small saucepan, I use 1 cup beet juice to 1 cup vinegar and 1 cup sugar. The sugar can be adjusted to taste. Add 2 small cinnamon sticks and 1/2 tsp of whole allspice. Simmer this mixture for about 10 min. I use a gallon jar and put in eggs and thin sliced onion and beets. These are also good without onion. Then pour the warm liquid over all. Putting them in a jar instead of a bowl allows the juice to cover the eggs completely. I always make these at least 2 days ahead of time to allow the flavor and color to soak in. Stir or shake every day to color evenly. They last for weeks in the fridge and are great also in salads. To make sure the eggs are easy to peel. Buy your eggs a week or so before you use them. Fresh eggs are the worst to peel. After cooking them. Drain them and immediately put cold water on them and keep the water cold until the eggs are cool. this helps to shrink the egg from the shell and peels much easier. I take a couple dozen to family reunions and its a must at Easter time. These have a very deep purple color all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Perfect, perfect, perfect! The PA Dutch really do know what they're doing when it comes to down home cooking. (maybe I'm a little biased being from PA and all). This recipe is exactly what I was looking for and my husband just loves pickled eggs so I had to try this. I made this a week ago and the verdict is in... (drumroll please). We have a winner! He loved them and now wants me to make more (how many eggs can one person eat may I ask?). I used 6 hard-cooked eggs vs. twelve because that's all I could fit into the jar, layering them with the beets, red onion slices, and juice. I didn't change a thing with the mixture and let them set for one full week. When we cut open the first egg it was a perfect deep reddish-pink color all the way through to the yellow yolk! These are definitely worth the time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I had to leave a hand written note on the container while these were marinating, instructing my husband to not eat them until they were ready. The day I took the note away, the eggs were gone. I'm assuming they were wonderful, as he asked me to make them again. Hopefully I'll get to try one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
this is similar to my recipe. really nice . if your eggs are difficult to peel, you may have over-cooked the eggs. Try 1/2 teaspoon of salt or a tablespoon of white vinegar in the boiling water while the eggs are cooking. To peel eggs easily run cold water over the eggs as you crack and peel the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Made 6 eggs and added water to the beet juice while simmering, as it wasn't enough mixture to cover eggs. Used a pitcher, good, was a long time since I had any, brought back wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good recipe. I have made these pickled eggs numerous times. The're great! Wonderful for a brunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
EXACTLY like Grandma used to make. Thank You for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yummy, just like my mom made. I doubled the sugar and vinegar to make enough to cover a dozen eggs. A mason jar works best. I just flip it every day to make sure the eggs are covered. My husband and daughter pack these in their lunches, so I need to do at least a dozen every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Creek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
these were.....interesting. it was a special request from my hubby. i tried one, and it wasnt bad. he ate the rest! haha! i had to add a little warm water to make enough liquid to cover the eggs. after a few days, the flavor came out alot more. im not sure how i feel about the color, but he assures me that is how they are supposed to look LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States