Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did just as the instructions said and didn't have enough to cover my eggs so since that was the case I tripled the recipe and added more eggs. I've got them in the fridge right now, my husband opened the jar and said it was very overwhelming with the smell. I hope they won't knock us over. Once I try one I'll be sure to update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Novotny-Metott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My family is PA Dutch and these are what I remember eating growing up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Hey Roe, Here's the trick for easy egg peeling a friend taught me: before placing in cold water to boil, make sure that the eggs are thoroughly room temperature. I set them out for an afternoon or overnight. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My first time making pickled eggs. I did add a few bay leaves and whole garlic cloves other than that kept the same. Pretty good stuff:>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used three cans of beets, I wanted them to be really deep with color, they get better the longer they are in the frig! Slice, sprinkle a little salt and pepper...nice snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These weren't very good. Not enough vinegar to cover the eggs. Not enough flavor for us, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is a good start, but I've been making pickled eggs for all family functions and whenever I go to picnics in general and I never add any sugar to my eggs. I make them in a gallon jar using three dozen eggs and I usually try to start them a week before the function. (The longer they bathe in the juice the darker and deeper the purple goes.) I also use PICKLED beets and mostly just use the juice. I throw in a few beets for those who like them. I add about a cup of white vinegar and some whole cloves and sometimes a bay leaf or two. Then fill the rest of the jar up with water. Everyone in my family begs me to bring these pickled eggs to their parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars as I am used to these eggs with spices in them and not so sweet. My father taught me how to make these and he always made enough to fill a gallon jar, which will hold 2-3 dozen eggs. He always added 2 bay leaf, 2 T pickling spice, 2 tsp whole cloves and salt and pepper to taste. He used at least 3 cans of beets and 2 large onions and more apple cider vinegar. and he would layer the ingredients into a jar and leave it for at least 3 days. These never last very long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have been making these every year around Easter for 62 years and I am Penn Dutch. Your recipe is right on it but I do add 2 cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Larson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My family has always made these, and the easier way is to save the juice from pickled beets and add the eggs and let sit a few days. We always looked forward to the day they were ready to eat and were so simple to do that I was about 6 or 7 when mom let me do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States