Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
In answer to Roe's question about peeling eggs, if you peel the eggs under cold water or in a pan of ice water the shells come off much easier. This is the recipe that I use but I triple it and use a glass gallon jar. I also use more sugar, but that is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Me and the little guy did noy like these, but hubby did and he rated them a 4. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yum! Loved these, really great. Does anyone know if you can reuse the juice and put more eggs in when the eggs are gone? If so, how long will the juice stay good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beaupedia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good recipe! I added about 7 whole cloves to the beet juice mixture while it was boiling. I also reduced the sugar by about a tablespoon or two (I prefer more sour). Add about half a tablespoon of salt more :) Overall good, sound recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss. cook2you

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very Good! Just like Mom's, but I added whole cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did just as the instructions said and didn't have enough to cover my eggs so since that was the case I tripled the recipe and added more eggs. I've got them in the fridge right now, my husband opened the jar and said it was very overwhelming with the smell. I hope they won't knock us over. Once I try one I'll be sure to update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Novotny-Metott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My family is PA Dutch and these are what I remember eating growing up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Hey Roe, Here's the trick for easy egg peeling a friend taught me: before placing in cold water to boil, make sure that the eggs are thoroughly room temperature. I set them out for an afternoon or overnight. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My first time making pickled eggs. I did add a few bay leaves and whole garlic cloves other than that kept the same. Pretty good stuff:>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used three cans of beets, I wanted them to be really deep with color, they get better the longer they are in the frig! Slice, sprinkle a little salt and pepper...nice snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States