Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I've been making these for a couple years, ever since I found this recipe, I actually use pickled beets with onions and add the sugar and vinegar to the pickle juice from the jar, it makes plenty to cover the eggs! If you keep your eggs for at least a week before boiling them, they will peel easier, fresh eggs don't peel well. Just be sure to use the old eggs for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I liked this a lot. Very easy too. I did share these with a few others, and they thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I had fresh beets to use and only 6 eggs so I kind of winged it...but we enjoyed this treat. My first time making them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My grandmother used to make these for my mother, and after she died I took over the job. :) However, since I never thought about it before my grandmother's death, I had to find a recipe. The first time I made these, my mother said they were too sweet, so the next time, I used half the amount of sugar and left everything else alone, and she said they were perfect. Also, using cider vinegar gives you more of that "Pennsylvania Dutch" taste than using white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate and John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is a very good and simple recipe but you need to double the beets and liquid recipe in order to cover everything completely. After eating all of the eggs from the first batch, I boil another dozen eggs and use the same liquid again. Works perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Thanks for the recipe (I double the beets, sugar, and vinegar) I love these! For those of you having trouble peeling your eggs here are two really great tricks to peeling them. First one - after the eggs are boiled run cold water over them for a minute or so...pour out all the water leaving only 1/4 cup...place the lid on the pan and start shaking the pan like we did in the old days making popcorn on the stove...do this for about 30 seconds pretty vigorously and wallah - NO PEELING (or very little) The other way is to knock them gently on the table and roll them under your hand until the entire shell is cracked up and then peel off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishSchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
In answer to Roe's question about peeling eggs, if you peel the eggs under cold water or in a pan of ice water the shells come off much easier. This is the recipe that I use but I triple it and use a glass gallon jar. I also use more sugar, but that is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Me and the little guy did noy like these, but hubby did and he rated them a 4. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yum! Loved these, really great. Does anyone know if you can reuse the juice and put more eggs in when the eggs are gone? If so, how long will the juice stay good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beaupedia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good recipe! I added about 7 whole cloves to the beet juice mixture while it was boiling. I also reduced the sugar by about a tablespoon or two (I prefer more sour). Add about half a tablespoon of salt more :) Overall good, sound recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss. cook2you

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States