Pickled Red Beet Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this as directed and liquid wasn't enough to cover eggs. I doubled the liquid mixture and it came out a perfect. My family absolutely loved this recipe. First time ever pickling eggs and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I add a pinch of ground cloves and a pinch of dry mustard to pickled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
adding a Tb of baking soda to the water you are boiling your eggs in makes them super easy to peel :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Moran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I make this with the beet juice, one teaspoon of sugar, one half cup of white vinegar, and 3 cloves. I don't heat the mixture- just combine the ingredients and put in the eggs. Let them set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Creek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It's a good recipe although I do think it's better to double the beet juice/vinegar/sugar mix to completely cover the eggs. Also, the addition of a couple of shakes of pickling spice really adds more depth to the flavor and kicks it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe. Very close to those I made years ago when managing a bar and grill in PA. We kept a jar in the bar cooler and I could never keep up with the demand. They were the absolute favorite bar snack! Also, re peeling eggs, I have had about a 95% success rate by doing the following: eggs should be 1-2 weeks old; eggs should be room temperature before placing in water; I use a push-pin to poke a hole in the rounder end of the egg; After they are cooked I run cool water over the eggs until they no longer generate heat when held in your hand. As someone else stated, try tapping the ends and then rolling them on their sides before peeling. I sometimes have better luck with the occasional stubborn one by peeling it under cool running water. Sounds complicated but it's really not. You'll get the hang of it quickly and end up with "pretty" eggs all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good, but we like them pickled a bit "more". I added,as some suggested, more beet juice, a little water for more juice. I also add 1 tbs of pickling spice and leave eggs in beet juice for as many days as you can keep the family out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
To PEEL EGGS easily, yes, pierce them, but more importantly, as SOON as they come out of the hot water, dump them in cold water. This builds up steam under the shell and assists with peeling. However, fresh fresh eggs will not peel easily as the membrane has not been pushed away from the white by the air that gets into an egg over time. So use eggs that are not right off the farm or use the older eggs in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is exactly what I hoped to find when I Googled "How to Make Pickled Red Beet Eggs." Living in Pennsylvania all my life, most people who I know inherently know how to make all the good things that I grew up eating like these red beet eggs. But I don't have their recipes because being single, I just don't make large quanties of food, though I love when my relatives bring their specialties to gatherings and it's already made and long since perfected. I can buy these eggs at grocery store deli counters but they're expensive for the few that you get and for the same money now I can make a large jar for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States