Pickled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I first looked for this recipe after enjoying something similar in a restaurant, and this makes the perfect compliment to a shredded bbq chicken/pork sandwich! So simple yet so good! Recipe perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made it exactly as in the recipe and it is tangy but a great addition to a spinach salad with a warm bacon vinaigrette. I also got the warm bacon vinaigrette recipe here too. They are great on sandwiches and even as a tipping on a steak or marinated chicken breasts. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe ingredients exacty, but I made it in the microwave- they were delicious. I served them with smoked salmon, capers and a mustard sauce on pumpernickel bread! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Horrible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good but too much salt. Cut salt in half. I like them spicy so I added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I agree with "Lucky Noodles", there is too much sugar and not enough salt in these. I used her idea (1/2 tsp. salt and 4 Tbsp. sugar). I do like a little of the red wine vinegar in them, but as Tamaralynn stated, they actually taste a better with some apple cider vinegar in the brine. With these adaptations, these are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Decker Sorby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwinner, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. I loved it first time I made it - second time I used Apple Cider vinegar instead of the Red Wine vinegar... WAY better. Give it a try - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
So my husband requested Mexican posole last night, but with a twist.."pickled red onions"..so this is the recipe I decided on...I've never tasted them before so I had no idea what it should taste like..I followed the recipe exactly as stated but with half the salt it called for and more sugar as the other reviews stated...I appreciate reading other reviews...So, it was a big hit!!!! I am not kidding when I say my 2 year old was eating them right out of the container and my husband loved it!!!...THANK YOU BOBI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Hubby is eating these straight out of the fridge! We have had them on grilled salmon and burgers and will have them on hot dogs and sandwiches too! We both prefer paper thin rings instead of chopping the onion. There may be a mistake on the recipe, way too much salt and way too little sugar. I ended up with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 4 Tablespoons sugar. And DH is eating them straight from the fridge! I said that again. . . Thank you Bobi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Mclifford973
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I did add a bit more sugar because of the other reviews. I also didn't add my red onions till after I made the pickling liquid. These will be great on tonight's burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States