Pickled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
You have to love onions. I used a red and large sweet white onion mixed together. YUM YUM. good on hot dogs or bbq sausage. Thanks for sharing it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love these. I first had these when my sister made them from a popular magazine, and now we love to eat them on pork bbq, hot dogs, and hamburgers. They make everything taste unique and great! I used a little bit less salt in mine but I think the total amount would've been fine. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe adds the perfect tang to a meal that needs a spark...very good and easy! (O:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Hubby is eating these straight out of the fridge! We have had them on grilled salmon and burgers and will have them on hot dogs and sandwiches too! We both prefer paper thin rings instead of chopping the onion. There may be a mistake on the recipe, way too much salt and way too little sugar. I ended up with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 4 Tablespoons sugar. And DH is eating them straight from the fridge! I said that again. . . Thank you Bobi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I first looked for this recipe after enjoying something similar in a restaurant, and this makes the perfect compliment to a shredded bbq chicken/pork sandwich! So simple yet so good! Recipe perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. I loved it first time I made it - second time I used Apple Cider vinegar instead of the Red Wine vinegar... WAY better. Give it a try - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
So my husband requested Mexican posole last night, but with a twist.."pickled red onions"..so this is the recipe I decided on...I've never tasted them before so I had no idea what it should taste like..I followed the recipe exactly as stated but with half the salt it called for and more sugar as the other reviews stated...I appreciate reading other reviews...So, it was a big hit!!!! I am not kidding when I say my 2 year old was eating them right out of the container and my husband loved it!!!...THANK YOU BOBI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe ingredients exacty, but I made it in the microwave- they were delicious. I served them with smoked salmon, capers and a mustard sauce on pumpernickel bread! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made it exactly as in the recipe and it is tangy but a great addition to a spinach salad with a warm bacon vinaigrette. I also got the warm bacon vinaigrette recipe here too. They are great on sandwiches and even as a tipping on a steak or marinated chicken breasts. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Had pickled onions at a restaurant in Cleveland on duck sliders and had to find a recipe similar. This one is pretty close. We made them and put them on bbq hamburgers and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States