Pickled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
You have to love onions. I used a red and large sweet white onion mixed together. YUM YUM. good on hot dogs or bbq sausage. Thanks for sharing it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love these. I first had these when my sister made them from a popular magazine, and now we love to eat them on pork bbq, hot dogs, and hamburgers. They make everything taste unique and great! I used a little bit less salt in mine but I think the total amount would've been fine. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Way too vinegary for me and I usually enjoy vinegar flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe adds the perfect tang to a meal that needs a spark...very good and easy! (O:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly - waaay too sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Had pickled onions at a restaurant in Cleveland on duck sliders and had to find a recipe similar. This one is pretty close. We made them and put them on bbq hamburgers and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I really liked these, but next time I'll make a few changes. I would add less salt and a bit more sugar, maybe two tablespoons. Also, I tried these without steeping first and then after they'd steeped...I would skip it if you enjoy a crisper onion. They were tasty and I plan to refrigerate them until burger-nite in a few days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mclifford973
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I did add a bit more sugar because of the other reviews. I also didn't add my red onions till after I made the pickling liquid. These will be great on tonight's burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Hubby is eating these straight out of the fridge! We have had them on grilled salmon and burgers and will have them on hot dogs and sandwiches too! We both prefer paper thin rings instead of chopping the onion. There may be a mistake on the recipe, way too much salt and way too little sugar. I ended up with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 4 Tablespoons sugar. And DH is eating them straight from the fridge! I said that again. . . Thank you Bobi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
So my husband requested Mexican posole last night, but with a twist.."pickled red onions"..so this is the recipe I decided on...I've never tasted them before so I had no idea what it should taste like..I followed the recipe exactly as stated but with half the salt it called for and more sugar as the other reviews stated...I appreciate reading other reviews...So, it was a big hit!!!! I am not kidding when I say my 2 year old was eating them right out of the container and my husband loved it!!!...THANK YOU BOBI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States