Pickled Jalapenos and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very quick and easy. Filled a quart canning jar. Used 6 medium carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
We had some jalapenos that were starting to get a little old, so I found and tried this recipe. It is fantastic. I had only had the pickled peppers in restaurants, and these are so much better. To the vinegar and sugar, I added several shakes of ground pepper, around 1/4 tsp of Italian seasoning, and a few shakes of salt. I boiled my carrots for around five minutes before adding the peppers (quartered lengthwise into strips, with the membrane and seeds removed). I also added three cloves of garlic, quartered, and maybe 1/4 cup of sliced white onion. I only boiled everything together for a couple minutes, and then I let it all cool in the pot. When at room temperature, into a glass jar! So good, next time I want to add some cauliflower! Don't be scared of making pickled anything. The reward is worth the effort! Thanks for sharing, JC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful, the carrots were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Mine turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Little sweet and it needed water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
i must of done something wrong. Carrots are still too crispy. Too sugary also. Too bad. I live in San Diego and eat these all the time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Easy! Made this just for my husband and he enjoyed them. I didn't have jalapeño so I used the left over yellow peppers. Also added salt and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The taste with my changes makes this a 10 star recipe but as is, only 4. I slice my carrots and simmer for about 8 minutes to slightly soften. I boiled the vinegar with the sugar and took it off the stove and added the white onion & jalepeno (I used jarred, not fresh). When the carrots were to my liking I scooped them into the vinegar mixture and let that set for 1 hour. I then put into 2 1-pint jars and will refrigerate. I did also add some salt as I think it needs that. YUMMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Whole family loves these. I always add about a tsp of oregano to the pickling liquid as that's how I remember them on the table at our favorite Mexican restaurant in San Diego. They keep in the fridge for about 2 weeks if they're around that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made the recipe but added about 1 heaping tspn of dried oregano,4 cloves of crushed garlic,and a tspn of whole peppercorns to the boiled vinigar/sugar mixture! Yummy and totally tastes the same as the resturants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States