Pickled Jalapenos and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I use 3 carrots 2 jalapenos and 1/2 onion. this is so good we eat it on everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is recipe is absolutely fabulous. I've made it a few times already, but I added oregano (as others have suggested) this time around. It just get's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vpo63foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
To the spice mix I added mexican oregano, whole peppercorns and some celery seed. I included pearl onions and garlic to the jalapenos and carrots. It tasted good after 24 hours in the refrigerator, but I think the mix needs 2 weeks to fully come to life, so I will bring them out at Thanksgving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
There were WAY too many jalapenos in this. As the carrots sit and marinate, they get VERY spicy, and I normally like spicy. I would have partially cooked the carrots as well, so they are only a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My husband discovered pickled jalapenos and carrots when he was stationed in San Diego in the Navy. There wasn't as much liquid as I expected.I've also noticed the consistent additions of oregano and garlic, which I may need to incorporate. I'm still in the hour waiting period, so I'll have to update with how he likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was quite a bit more vinegar-y than I am used to having at the restaurants, so after serving them when they were first made, I jarred the remainder with a little more water added to the liquid... I'll come back and add how they turned out after a couple days pickling :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
with the addition of oregano, this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I always pickle my own and never add this much sugar, if any at all. You can soften up the carrots by microwaving for a couple minutes. Since I make my own salsa and use this for my heat (that's when you add the sugar to counteract the vinegar) I run it through the food processor so I can just spoon it in without having to do any chopping but also add a few whole ones just in case I want slices or chunky pieces. I also add garlic cloves and peppercorns. Sometimes a Serrano or two. Ever had pickled garlic? Oh, my... If I grind it I don't even micro the carrots, but I do cook until I see that particular 'color' that you like in pickled jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paulden, Arizona, USA
Photo by Tania D.
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Since I wanted to use these hot peppers to decorate a meat dish I left them whole and added various other hot peppers. They are beautiful and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The best pickles ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States