Pickled Jalapenos and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I use 3 carrots 2 jalapenos and 1/2 onion. this is so good we eat it on everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is recipe is absolutely fabulous. I've made it a few times already, but I added oregano (as others have suggested) this time around. It just get's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vpo63foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
To the spice mix I added mexican oregano, whole peppercorns and some celery seed. I included pearl onions and garlic to the jalapenos and carrots. It tasted good after 24 hours in the refrigerator, but I think the mix needs 2 weeks to fully come to life, so I will bring them out at Thanksgving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
There were WAY too many jalapenos in this. As the carrots sit and marinate, they get VERY spicy, and I normally like spicy. I would have partially cooked the carrots as well, so they are only a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My husband discovered pickled jalapenos and carrots when he was stationed in San Diego in the Navy. There wasn't as much liquid as I expected.I've also noticed the consistent additions of oregano and garlic, which I may need to incorporate. I'm still in the hour waiting period, so I'll have to update with how he likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was quite a bit more vinegar-y than I am used to having at the restaurants, so after serving them when they were first made, I jarred the remainder with a little more water added to the liquid... I'll come back and add how they turned out after a couple days pickling :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
with the addition of oregano, this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I always pickle my own and never add this much sugar, if any at all. You can soften up the carrots by microwaving for a couple minutes. Since I make my own salsa and use this for my heat (that's when you add the sugar to counteract the vinegar) I run it through the food processor so I can just spoon it in without having to do any chopping but also add a few whole ones just in case I want slices or chunky pieces. I also add garlic cloves and peppercorns. Sometimes a Serrano or two. Ever had pickled garlic? Oh, my... If I grind it I don't even micro the carrots, but I do cook until I see that particular 'color' that you like in pickled jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paulden, Arizona, USA
Photo by Tania D.
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Since I wanted to use these hot peppers to decorate a meat dish I left them whole and added various other hot peppers. They are beautiful and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The best pickles ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States