Pickled Hot Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These came out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhomecookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It was a really good starter recipe. I added a bit to the ingrients, pickling salt, and changed the cooking method a bit.....I added a few spices like dill and basil, for just a little extra and added all sorts of different peppers esp hotter ones like chili peppers to give it a bit of color and extra kick since the vinegar and cooking will take away the heat of the peppers. BTW, if you don't like the heat of the peppers, you can add a little oil to the bottom of the jars before filling and it will help to take away some of the kick of the peppers! I also put some pickling salt in the vinegar/water before boiling, just a TBSP or so. Takes away a bit of the sour taste some might get. I also filled the jars differently, making it a lot easier and a lot less dangerous in my opinion. Instead of actually cooking the peppers, onions, garlic, and spices with the Vinegar/Water; I stuff them into clean jars and poured the really hot vinegar/water mixture over them. I then re-cooked the jar with lids on to make them seal, like the recipe. This allowed the peppers to cook in the jars through the boiling process, but not lose as much heat and crunch. It was also a little easier in my opinion, allowing me to stuff my jar completely with the cool, just cut ingredients, instead of having to ladle and stuff hot peppers into the jars, making sure they were filled and not burning myself in the process. Hope that helps and thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Donovan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is the best recipe for pickled peppers I have found. I just used the banana peppers. The amount of vinegar is perfect. I am so glad I tried it.Thanks so much. I give this recipe five stars. sweetfern39
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I thought the peppers were pretty good but tasted really sour from the vinegar. After opening the jar I added some pickling salt and they tasted much better. I will make this again but next time I will add salt during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were FABULOUS! Much better than I expected. I did add a little olive oil and fresh basil for extra flavor and I did not crush the garlic, I halved it or quartered it so that there were nice big chunks in there. We waited 6 months before opening. I can't wait to make more and give them away as gifts. I will definitely be growing more hot peppers this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Mine turned out mushy - not the right texture for pickled peppers. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Simmering for five minutes turned the peppers to mush. I tried it a second time just adding boiled liquid to the jar full of peppers and it came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was our first experience with pickling peppers from our garden. The recipe was easy to follow and we love our peppers! Thanks for the great recipe for beginners like us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a good recipe for pickled peppers, I use steam distilled water,not tap water ,some oregano,celery sliced thin,I cut the peppers 1/4 inch to 1/2 and I add slices of carrots. also sometimes I leave the peppers whole also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I love this. It's very hot, but very tasty! A great way to use those fresh hot peppers from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States